Age is relative…

everyday1
I have never had a problem telling people my age, but lately, I have not wanted to dish that information out anymore.  One’s age really has nothing to do with anyone else unless they are a personal friend, your child, employer or spouse, although I do know of some spouses who don’t know their partner’s actual age.   So, now when people ask my age I say that I am old enough, which is often met with “old enough for what?”  This is when, depending who I am talking to, I will either wink, or give a flippant answer.

“One should never trust a woman who tells one her real age. A woman who would tell one that would tell one anything.”

Oscar Wilde

Really though, for me, age is relative to how I feel.  For instance; I feel older on a Monday, especially Monday mornings and as the days of the week go by I actually start feeling much younger by Friday! On Saturdays I am quite young, but on Sundays I start aging ever so slightly again.
I often come across older women, who to me are not older, who just love younger men.  Good for them I say, and if they manage to cougar one of them, then even “gooder” for them, but for me, my regard of the opposite sex has absolutely nothing to do with age, it has to do with maturity and wisdom.   Still though, I am more in tune with people my own age or older.

“Yes, we praise women over 40 for a multitude of reasons. Unfortunately, it’s not reciprocal. For every stunning, smart, well-coiffed, hot woman over 40, there is a bald, paunchy relic in yellow pants making a fool of himself with some 22-year old waitress. Ladies, I apologize. For all those men who say, “Why buy the cow when you can get the milk for free?”, here’s an update for you. Nowadays 80% of women are against marriage. Why? Because women realize it’s not worth buying an entire pig just to get a little sausage!”

Andy Rooney

What if you had the choice of staying any age you choose, but you cant live to be a hundred first so as to try all the different years out?  I can see many people getting worried about turning thirty for instance, so they may choose to stay twenty nine, but then would never have that absolutely awesome feeling of being older and the feeling of having emotions which are more settled.  I reckon with each age there are different perks.  From personal experience, I’d say I have become more self-assured and more centered as I have aged.  That is not to say that younger people are not centered and self-assured.  It really brings me back to my point of age being relative.
Yes, I have a big birthday coming up, and no, I’m not telling my age any longer…only that I can be compared to a fine wine.

“Just remember, when you’re over the hill, you begin to pick up speed.”

Charles M. Schulz

 For: Weekly Writing Challenge,  Weekly Photo Challenge: Perspective.

The Daily Prompt. (relinked for Daily Prompt)

Photo: My own.

104 thoughts on “Age is relative…

  1. I wouldn’t mind staying in my late 20s. I was in better shape and could do more stupid things with less physical consequence. Plus I was more resilient.

    Happy pre-birthday!

  2. Sometimes I forget my own age – shows you just how important I think it is! Now I am older I am certainly more confident than I was when I was younger.

  3. Great thoughts Michelle. My experience with this is never ask a woman her age. It’s just a bad thing to do. In my head I am still 20. My body is chronologically 53 but feels much older some days due to health issues. Your avatar is awesome, you look wonderful. 🙂

  4. Love it… age is only as old as you feel… some days I’m 21 (the body says different) and other days I feel my age when my body reminds me I’m not 21… but the older I get the better I feel about the years that have past, yet remain young in my head…

  5. I completely skipped my 30’s. I remained 29 for 11 years until I turned 40 and now I happily admit to my age 🙂

    I’m the opposite to you, I relate better to the youngsters than people my own age and older. So I suppose if I could be one age forever it would probably be about 20. Old enough to drive, drink [not together!] and party, but young enough not to have any responsibilities 😉

  6. I have to think how old I am because I always forget. I forget a lot of things that I don’t consider important anymore. 🙂
    Happy upcoming pat-on-the-back day. You’ve come a l-o-n-g way, Baby! 😀

  7. I always feel 100 years older than what I am and years older than people my own age. Heck I keep forgetting my age and I’m not that old!

  8. Im often mistaken with my age. For example if I shave I am 7 years younger and 8 years older when I don’t shave…..to be honest age ain’t nothing but a number.We all have different experiences through our lives and that defines us.

  9. Well said Michelle … Love your sense of humour too! 😉 I think age is how you look at it and keeping the mind active is important as is a good sense of humour. 🙂 Hugs! Iris

  10. I remember seeing a quote once that said, “After 60, old age is always 15 years older than you are.” I think old age begins when you give up, and I never intend to do that. My age is irrelevant, as long as I feel young at heart. 🙂

  11. Pingback: Maiden, Mother, Crone: all in one | ALIEN AURA'S BlOG: IT'LL BLOW YOUR MIND!

  12. Pingback: Maiden, Mother, Crone: all in one | ALIEN AURA'S BlOG: IT'LL BLOW YOUR MIND!

  13. ”Age is relative.” So true. And as long as all my relatives age…and not me, that’s fine.

    My grandad used to say: “I’m as old as my tongue and a little older than my teeth.”

    And like you..I have a burfday coming up and I am definitely not telling anyone I am…..years old.

    😉

  14. That’s a tough one because my body was probably at it’s fittest in my early to mid 30’s but I’ve become more self assured, confident and determined to live the way I want to in my early 40’s! I don’t think the term ‘mid-life crisis’ is accurate, I think it’s more of a ‘mid-life wake up call’ … time to stop doing the things that don’t make you happy and do the things that do! Happy pre-birthday wishes to you! Great post! 🙂

  15. I enjoyed this! Your Andy Rooney quote had me laughing out loud. Never heard that one before. (hee hee).

    It’s never bothered me to tell my age although sometimes after I say it, I think, “Wow, am I really that old?” Some days my brain feels much younger, but my body tells me differently!

  16. Pingback: Weekly writing challenge, the Golden years : It’s all Gold, a 95 word story | Challenged for Words

  17. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge – Perspective – Threads to treads |

  18. This was a fun read. I really don’t care one way or another if people know my age, it has never been a big deal with me. I like your fine wine idea. Hugs

  19. Oh yes – great idea not to share your age. I think I will begin doing the same thing! I do love your last quote though about picking up speed when you’re over the hill! 🙂

  20. Yes age is a number but the older I get the more confident I get, so I have no problem telling my age. I do not feel it and every age has its problems and advantages. I am very happily getting “older” as I think there are more surprises in store for me!

  21. Pingback: DP Challenge – The Path | siobhanmcnamara

  22. Pingback: Premiere… | Words 'n Pics...

  23. Pingback: The 18th of August 1941 – Germantown, Maryland | Forgotten Correspondence

  24. Pingback: Positive(ly) thought(less) | soulfoood

  25. Pingback: Centenary Sparkle | litadoolan

  26. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge – Golden Years | Joe's Musings

  27. I would, as you say, have chosen younger, but now, after my stroke, when my life is so much calmer, my blood pressure normal, and my writing life filled with joy, I would choose now.
    Scott

  28. I really enjoyed reading your article about age and how you view it. Getting older is sometimes an issue for me. My mind still thinks of me as in my 30’s and to me that’s young, my body is still around 5 or so years younger than my age, but my macro vision when looking in the mirror can be an issue as I see each new wrinkle. I just think I need to remove all the mirrors from my home and I’ll be happy and young forever. KC

  29. Pingback: Weekly photo challenge – Perspective – Araneae |

  30. Pingback: The Elders of Us | Wired With Words

  31. Pingback: Forever Young | Knowledge Addiction

  32. Pingback: Young at heart: The Ballad of the Fifty Something Rebel. Daily Prompt! | ALIEN AURA'S BlOG: IT'LL BLOW YOUR MIND!

  33. Pingback: The Click-Over | jigokucho

  34. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Young At Heart | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice

  35. Pingback: Daily prompt: Age | The Wandering Poet

  36. Pingback: How To Be Young Again | The Moon Head

  37. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Young At Heart | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  38. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Young At Heart | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  39. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Young At Heart | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  40. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Young At Heart | The Bohemian Rock Star's "Untitled Project"

  41. Pingback: Responsibly Immature | The Ravenously Disappearing Woman

  42. Pingback: Fountain of Youth Lies in the Silly | The Shotgun Girls

  43. I completely agree with the point about not wanting to miss the greater self-assurance or confidence that comes with age and life experience. Enjoyed your entire post.

  44. Pingback: 50, Really, is NOT the New 30! | 365 Days of Thank You

  45. Pingback: Aging Is A Blessing | B.Kaotic

  46. Pingback: A Blog for Laura Lee

  47. Pingback: Young At Heart | Alexia Jones

  48. Thanks so much for the like of my ‘street life’ photo. I love this post! My age? Like it matters?! You, me and fine wine. That’s my story and I’m sticking to it.

  49. Pingback: Daily Prompt–Young at Heart | Tina Pumfrey

Namaste. My soul honors your soul. I honor the place in you where the entire universe resides. I honor the light, love, truth, beauty & peace within you, because it is also within me. In sharing these things we are united, we are the same, we are one.