“As people grow colder”

bear

The Daily Prompt

Tell us the origin story of your best friend. How did you become friends?

What is it that keeps your friendship rockin’ after all these years?

Frienship is a touchy subject for me.  I think it would be presumptuous to assume that everyone has a best friend.  I have never had a “best friend” whom I have know for years and years.  My “friends” are in fact online, other than that I cannot brag about having a friend that I have known for a long time, and that we stuck together through thick and thin.

“The truth is, everyone is going to hurt you. You just got to find the ones worth suffering for.”
― Bob Marley

I regard my online friends as being close, even though it has been pointed out to me that online friendship is not the same as real life friends. One thing though, I know my on line friends are alive, so when people use those words “in real life” with me, well then I really want to throw rotten eggs at them.  Only live people can type original thoughts…you know what I mean?

“As the people grow colder, I turn to my computer and spend my evenings with it like a friend.” – Kate Bush, Deeper Understanding

For: The Daily Prompt
51 thoughts on ““As people grow colder”

  1. Well said, and I feel the same.
    Though how I interact with people online is different than how I do face to face. Here, it’s a lot easier to reread and understand, there are fewer distractions, and words and comments can be more carefully considered.

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Something So Strong | The Bohemian Rock Star's "Untitled Project"

  3. Pingback: Something So Strong | The Story of a Guy

  4. Your C.S. Lewis quote really says it all. Friends are people that you can relate to, and I find that online friends have become a very real part of my life. I can laugh with them, cry with them, and we have developed a rapport with one another. We may not always agree, but at least we know where we stand, as they’re not shy to give their honest opinions about almost any topic under the sun. 🙂

  5. Pingback: Lisa's Kansa Muse

  6. Pingback: Position Open | I'm a Writer, Yes I Am

  7. Amen to that. The ‘best friends’ I had through school and the times after are now all gone into the world on their own paths. Makes you wonder what has become of them. Nothing stays the same. I hold on to Him that never changes or goes away. Great post Michelle.

  8. The phrase “a friend in need is a friend indeed” says it all for an ideal friendship. I believe it’s a two way relationship and it’s built up over time. I do appreciate all my online friends as well including yourself, Michelle. A hug to you ladybug! Oops, cheeky again!!!

  9. We had talked a couple of times over the last 34 years. It was always a pleasnt conversation and left a feeling of emptiness when we said our goodbyes. High School was long behind us but our friendship endured growing old and separating in two different paths of life. One rewarding the other not so much. Yet, when we met in the middle of past and present last week it was as if we have never been a part. Life goes on, friendships endure, and continue….

  10. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Something So Strong | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  11. Funny, I’ve had similar thoughts about the distinction between “real life” and “online” though I think I am guilty of sometimes using the term myself. I agree with you, though, that it really doesn’t make sense to say those words – the people in our online communities may not speak to us through sound waves, but the quality of the messages can be so rich. Perhaps some of our “offline” relationships would benefit from people taking the same time and care before shooting off their mouths 🙂

  12. Pingback: AND STILL WE ARE STRONG | SERENDIPITY

  13. Pingback: Ode to My BFF | Views Splash!

  14. How close online friends can be is usually a product of how much of themselves they are prepared to share.
    Often, though, one is able to judge the true worth of people fairly accurately from on ongoing set of short comments.

  15. I’m with you… I don’t have one long-term friend either… I have maybe one friend who I worked with the last couple of years I worked… we actually reconnected only about 4 years ago on facebook… other than that the closest friends I have are my blogging friends.. Whether we ever meet face to face,, it will never take away from the special relationship that we have….Diane

  16. Pingback: Welcome Brothers | Views Splash!

  17. I don’t think anyone should try to tell you who your “real” friends are. Whomever you feel is a real friend, is, whether you have ever met them in person or not!

  18. Thank you, Hope. I consider you a true and good friend. I do have a lot of friends online. I also have those special ones who know me pretty well.
    I have friends here in my more physical world. However, I am learning that most of them are, basically, fair-weather friends and not there for the tough stuff. My children are two of my very closest friends, then my sister. I have one male and one female friend who know me well and who share a lot of my life with me. Otherwise, I live a lot in my head.
    Scott

  19. I feel I know my online friends even more deeply than many people I know in “real” life because they share what is innermost and important, allowing me to know who they truly are.

  20. Pingback: How I Met My Rock (Quite Literally) | Thinking Diagonally

  21. Pingback: Daily prompt: Best friends | The Wandering Poet

  22. Pingback: Bond | My Play Nook

  23. This is so true, yet I do have a few friends that are “true friends” that come through from pre internet days… but my internet friends I have contact with more often than the others… so who are “true friends?” who knows…

  24. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Something So Strong | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice

  25. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Something So Strong | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  26. I find that as one shares, the friendship grows, and with online friends they give freely and do not expect anything in return. They are beautifully selfless, genuine. But as they share more and more and they see you through your words the friendship evolves wonderfully. On line it is more of a spiritual love, blind trust maybe or more so faith and believing in there is something special that blossoms in those who we cannot see except through words. It is like we are blind, a blind person can on hear the words, well we see the words and feel the emotions and life within them. We see a little clearer because we can replay them in our hearts and minds again and again…with a face to face conversation it ends and you go one way and the friend another. You may remember some of the words but not all of them. So we are sharing our spirits online, and you have to a little keener in how you decipher the words and heartfelt meanings. I can say that It is easier to embrace the soulfulness of a person through their words…I have more friends consistently now than ever in my life, but if we are all part of the one living God, it was always to be, most believe God to be their friend and with him you have the greatest internet connection. without seeing Him face to face. From early on in our conversations I saw the selflessness in your heart, the real and the genuine caring spirit! So even though we may not talk a lot, I know when we do…you are always a friend of mine! Lovely post my sister! See that, you are a sister to me also. What did God say, and I will paraphrase, love your brother and sister as you would yourself’.’ Have a beautiful Sunday! Hugs and blessings always!

Namaste. My soul honors your soul. I honor the place in you where the entire universe resides. I honor the light, love, truth, beauty & peace within you, because it is also within me. In sharing these things we are united, we are the same, we are one.

