Almost Cold Turkey.

focalpoint2

Daily Prompt:Tell us about something you’ve tried to quit. Did you go cold turkey, or for gradual change? Did it stick?

Well, a few years ago, one morning, something made me stop and stare at the little handful of antidepressants I was having to take.  It was one of those moments when everything just stands still and realisation strikes one right between the eyes.  My realisation was that all this medication was numbing my mind and my emotions and that, I thought, was not fair to my family and to myself.  I also have to add that I really needed to take the medication when I did, and I am grateful to the psychiatrist who took care of me at that time.
I remember the time well, it was December, and I thought that would be a good time of year to get myself off the medication.  So, without the help of my psychiatrist (because I know she would have been very much against it) I started to wean my self off the AD’s.  It was really tough, and I did not feel too well either, but I persevered.
I was and am fortunate enough to have an extremely insightful and understanding physician who I saw for check ups during this time.  I would not recommend that people go off their meds at all, as I said, the time that I took them I needed them.  I would say that one should always consult with their appropriate doctor as each one of us is different, and we all react and respond differently to different situations and medications.
*Hugs*

 

44 thoughts on “Almost Cold Turkey.

  1. Thank you for sharing that. I know someone who has changed a lot because of their medication, and I think your blog post today will help them understand that although it isn’t good to come off your meds, it might be better for her mind. 🙂

  2. it’s not easy making the change, and it takes a step into the unknown with risks, but moderation seems to work, we are all addicted from the day we are born, just choose it wisely, whish is iften too late, but meds do have the dependency culture around it, and when you get over it, you feel strong, bless you, i’m using an electronic pipe to wean myself off cigs, it’s all in the mind, most of it, thanks for your post, it’s timely

  3. Pingback: The Beginning of a Happy Ending | Cancer Isn't Pink

  4. Pingback: Silenced – Daily Prompt | alienorajt

  5. As you say, there are times that we need medication. The fact that you realised you no longer needed them was probably the right time for you to stop using them.

  6. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Happy Endings | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

    • I understand about taking the one everyday and the ciggies. I must admit that I have something that I do take as well, but when necessary, it’s just that I am off the whole lot that I used to take. Thanks John 🙂
      *HUgs*

  7. Pingback: Smoking & the Heart | A mom's blog

  8. Pingback: I Quit Facebook/Daily Prompt | I'm a Writer, Yes I Am

  9. Wonderful to hear that you’ve made a decision to stop your anti-depressants. Yes, one could experience adverse side effects if it’s taken over a long period of time and not reviewed. It’s good that you have a good rapport with your physician. Keep well Michelle. 🙂

  10. Pingback: Happy End To Shopping This Morning | Lisa's Kansa Muse

  11. Pingback: Why it’s better to never start in the first place: | Rob's Surf Report

  12. Pingback: To the Sweetest | The Shotgun Girls

  13. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Happy Endings | The Wandering Poet

  14. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Happy Endings | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice

  15. Pingback: Happy Endings | Chomp, Chomp, Chomp! | Creating My World

  16. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Happy Endings | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  17. Pingback: I Know How To Quit You | Edward Hotspur

  18. Pingback: Willie And The Norwegian Flangiprop | The Jittery Goat

  19. I tried to go cold turkey with my meds but all it did was prove to me that I needed them. It might have been the placebo effect, I don’t know, but even though they have their side effects I still seem to be better off on them.
    *hugs*

  20. It’s great that you had such a good doctor Michelle and just goes to show that we can be stronger than the medication at times. You go girl! 😀 *hugs*

  21. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Happy Endings | A Room of One's Own

Namaste. My soul honors your soul. I honor the place in you where the entire universe resides. I honor the light, love, truth, beauty & peace within you, because it is also within me. In sharing these things we are united, we are the same, we are one.