I Just don’t get it.

Feel free to use this image just link to www.rentvine.com

The Daily Prompt:

Which subject in school did you find impossible to master? Did math give you hives? Did English make you scream? Do tell!

The reply:

Math, or Maths as we call it in South Africa.  I couldn’t do it then, and I still can’t do it now.  In all my years of working, no one has ever asked me to do algebra for them.  I do work out a lot of sizes and quantities when I make molds, but ya know, there are calculators in the world.
I can still, very clearly, hear the voice of my math teacher.  He was an old man who walked with a walking stick.  He would tap hard at my desk with the walking stick, use my surname and say in a loud grating voice “you don’t know what you’re doing!!!”  He would then try to explain the stuff to me, but at that stage I was shaking in my boots, so, of course nothing sank into my brain.
It has been a safe practice for me, over the years to employ math tutors for my children for homework.  Fortunately, they have much more brains than what I have.

For: The Daily Prompt

67 thoughts on “I Just don’t get it.

  1. Pingback: Daily prompt: !%!%*&! Math! | The Wandering Poet

  2. forms, we spend our lives filling in forms, and more forms every time we do something new, amen, forms and forms, and why, your post reminds me, we can’t put everyone in the same box

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Land of Confusion | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice

  4. I know exactly what you mean and it was no fun for me either. I loved Algebra but not Geometry and we had it as one subject. What I did discover was that you get 2 types of teachers in the Mathematics department – the ones that could bring themselves to your level and explain it so you can understand it and then the ones that were so clever but had no idea how to explain it to a child. I believe if you want someone to understand something, you have to go down to their level. I am sure your girls do have your intelligence. You just had the wrong teacher. 😀
    ♥ Big Hugs ♥

  5. My mom ❤ math. But she had a problem mastering geometry while in school. She couldn't figure out why we had to prove it when we all knew it was there – snorts. XOXO – Bacon

  6. I loved Maths at school, although I think with the Maths they are teaching kids in SA schools now a days, I will definitely have to employ a tutor. Whilst I miss doing the algebra, I certainly love my calculator and am become quite lazy. Have a great day further!

  7. Pingback: 1 + 1 = Math is stupid | The Bohemian Rock Star's "Untitled Project"

  8. Pingback: Land of Confusion | The Story of a Guy

  9. Pingback: Land of Confusion: Daily Prompt | ALIEN AURA'S BLOG: IT'LL BLOW YOUR MIND!

  10. We have this in common! I still dont get math really but I can use a calculator. Algebra should be an elective. Or trig. The schools force it on the kids here. Most will never need it.

  11. i was thinking about writing a post for this prompt, but honestly, it brings back memories i prefer not to experience again – even the thought gives me anxiety. yes – MATH – I hate it.

  12. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Land of Confusion | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  13. Pingback: Subjects in Distress | Views Splash!

  14. Your right side of the brain is the dominant one! Yes, some teachers can be unkind to their students. Maths is not my strong subject either but not all of us are good at everything. Your girls are very fortunate to have that special tuition. Love and hugs. 🙂

  15. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Land of Confusion | SIM | ANTICS

  16. Pingback: Giggles and some learning | A mom's blog

  17. Pingback: Land of Confusion | Lead us from the Unreal to the Real

  18. I agree. Math is the worst. When I taught 4th graders, I was barely able to understand the math even though the answers were in the book!! When I transferred to 3rd grade, I was finally in my comfort zone.

  19. Pingback: Just the Facts! | 365 Days of Thank You

  20. Pingback: What I Didn’t Learn | Edward Hotspur

  21. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Land of Confusion | My Atheist Blog

  22. I was also useless at maths. Strangely enough, when I was working I formulated an equation to do a job for which nobody else had been able to get more than an approximate answer. MBH is the funniest, though. She would arrive at the right answers using the wrong methods, or would arrive at another answer the maths teachers couldn’t prove was wrong, and it would drive them scatty!.

      • She has the ability to see more possibilities than the only one the poor mathematician can!
        I wish I had done that equation at school – it suddenly convinced me that there was some sense in learning algebra instead of it being useless.

  23. Maths and I just do not get along – we’ve come to an understanding of mutual antipathy and avoid contact at all costs. It was the only subject in school that I had no liking for and it has not endeared itself to me in later years either. Strangely the math involved in economics doesn’t phase me at all – I think because I can see it in direct application. Jenni

  24. I have a couple of things to say–one is that I didn’t really like math at all until I was 40 when I began teaching it as part of the GED course. Then I began to really like it. So perhaps the secret is to just take another look at it later in life–it may be different then. (I also didn’t like olives until I was in my 40’s either–now I love them.)
    But I think that sometimes we spend too much time limiting ourselves with words–‘I’m not good at X, I’m just not smart in that area”. I saw an article years ago that said that we often say things like that–but they suggested that a response more often heard in China might be more helpful. “I can’t do math” Response: “What a pity–you just haven’t met the right teacher yet. (One implies there is a finite ability in us–the other says that with a new approach, we can do lots more.). Just a small suggestion that I sometimes think about. 😎

    • You are so right about what we tell ourselves Julie. I also agree about giving learning a second shot later in life. I have done some extra study recently, and I must admit that I seem to understand so much better now, or my understanding is much better because I feel more settled in myself. I like the thought about not having met the right teacher. Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts 🙂
      *Hugs*

  25. As I remember, fractions was always my downfall during my school years but it has never stopped me so what do the mathematics teachers know? lol I think if a teacher is willing enough to spend time with a student then the learning is much clearer but then these days and of yesteryear the teachers that cared are and were far and few between, leaving only the brighter students excelling, which is a shame I think.

    Thank you for calling into my Space and reading the Dragon script, I haven’t been visiting much lately due to working away from the Internet, but over the next couple of weeks I should be getting back to normal. In the meantime have lots of fun and be good, just like me 😉 lol

    Andro xxxx

  26. So true Hugs. One of my sons grew up to be a high-school math teacher. Math came simple to him and still does, but the interesting thing about him is that he incorporates his math with philosophy and real-word examples of things in which to better understand the reasoning behind such complex things. He starts classes with relaxing music, has the kids relax and makes them think about their purpose. Still he finds ways to add the trigonometry and calculus. Go figure. He is a musician, has a degree in math, loves to talk about dreams, is an artist and is the teacher that has incorporated iPad technology into his school. Wild to think of it… I am lucky if I can just add 2 numbers in my head. Hugs! 🙂

  27. Pingback: NaPoWriMo – Poem / Poetry – “Who Are You Calling A Loon? Let Danny Dyer Teach You A Lesson (Parody)” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Namaste. My soul honors your soul. I honor the place in you where the entire universe resides. I honor the light, love, truth, beauty & peace within you, because it is also within me. In sharing these things we are united, we are the same, we are one.

