“Sleep on it”

but

(photo credit below)

The Daily Prompt:

What’s the most crazy, outrageously impulsive thing you’ve ever done? If you’ve never succumbed to temptation, dream a little. If you gave yourself permission to go a little crazy, what would you do?

By nature, I am quite impulsive, but I realised a few years back that the biggest mistakes I’ve made, have been those impulsive choices.  So now, when I can handle it, I leave things, and I let the thoughts wash over me.  In the process of teaching myself to stop being so impulsive, I also learnt the true meaning of the idiom “Sleep on it.”
So no, even if I have the urge, I wont even entertain the thought of doing something on impulse.  Small things like purchasing something small and unplanned for is ok, but not the big things.

For: The Daily Prompt.

photo credit: curlsdiva via photopin cc

41 thoughts on ““Sleep on it”

  1. Pingback: Crazy Train? No, Crazy Bike | Cancer Isn't Pink

  2. I think if one thinks over it and not rush to make a decision then one can act more rationally. I’m sure at times all of us have acted on impulse. Something to work on as you say, Michelle. 🙂

  3. Pingback: Crazy… (because we could have died) | I'm a Writer, Yes I Am

  4. I an not usually impulsive, but when my book was published, I made a vow to say yes to every opportunity to share and/or market the book. It led me to a lot of amazing experiences that I would’ve missed if I spend 2 seconds thinking about it. Sometimes, impulse is good.

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Let’s Go Crazy | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  6. Pingback: Losing Money on an Impulse | A mom's blog

  7. Pingback: Reflecting on my Magic Kingdom Internship | The Bohemian Rock Star's "Untitled Project"

  8. Pingback: Is it crazy to go against society’s expectations? | A New Life Wandering

  9. Fools rush in where angels fear to tread, right?

    I often try to curb my enthusiasm for sending off emails, ‘cos once its gone its gone and there ain’t nuthin’ you can do about it once you have pressed that little ”Send” button, right?

  10. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Impulse | The Wandering Poet

  11. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Let’s Go Crazy | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  12. Pingback: Dodgy Doges and Fresher Frescoes | litadoolan

  13. Pingback: [M.M.X.I.V. 67] Elevators | Never A Worry

  14. Pingback: How I Got A Book Published “On Impulse” | The Political and Social Chaos Blog

  15. Pingback: This Right Here | Views Splash!

  16. I am orally impulsive but think things through on occasion as well. Hmmmmmm…did that come out right?

    Nice post Michelle !

  17. Pingback: Poem / Poetry – “Impulse” – “Embrace Your Impetuousness” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

  18. Pingback: Gone Sailing

Namaste. My soul honors your soul. I honor the place in you where the entire universe resides. I honor the light, love, truth, beauty & peace within you, because it is also within me. In sharing these things we are united, we are the same, we are one.