Survival of the Mind

Buddah-p

I have spent a lot of time being depressed and struggling with my mind as those who read my blog would know. I have spent many a blog post being sad, but also unburdening myself.

My latest dip into the black dog pool took me to a different place this time. I just couldn’t write anymore and because of that it felt as though I was so bottled up with emotions I would explode, but it did lead me in a different direction. I swapped a Psychologist for a spiritual healer, and I took up yoga again. I also only take one medication now.

I’ve realised that the quieter I make my mind, so the world and all of its banging and clanging becomes quiet for me too. I’ve found that burning candles and connecting with my angels or spirit guides bring me peace. One of my greatest calming methods is meditation. There is something so very powerful about sitting quietly, with my hands in a praying position, resting on my chest, with my head lowered and in silence. Peace, calm, tranquility and balance takes over. Something I have not had much of throughout my life, but it is something I can freely give myself. Only I have the power to do that for myself. I have also discovered the power of gratitude. The more grateful one is, the higher your vibration.

I have my moments of losing to those little black doggies, but they’re puppies at the moment. I’m doing my best to keep them that way.

24 thoughts on “Survival of the Mind

  1. God bless you Hope. I, too, wrote on my survival from the darkness of depression. Praise God, for His many mercies, and His great patience with His beloved children. I pray that you remain free of the black puppies, and that God fills you with hope (just like your name!) whenever they nip at your feet again.

    Blessings,
    Cheryl

  2. Sorry, I took so long to read this one. Yes, I knew of your depression. I have prayed for you. I am so very glad you found some healing. Even more so that it was not in the bottom of an alcohol bottle or a pill bottle (even Rx).
    I meditate, but differently. It works for me just to think about things. My stroke took so much of the depression and all away. I am happier now, though it came with some bad physical effects. The mental freeing has been worth it, though I don’t recommend that method!
    Scott

  3. I’ve been off the meds just over a year and find cycling, writing and visiting half decent blogs (a bit like this one) has been a good help. They haven’t stopped the demon calling by from time to time but with some positive thinking and belief I’m keeping one step ahead of the bugger. Best wishes for you and your good health from the North of England πŸ™‚

Namaste. My soul honors your soul. I honor the place in you where the entire universe resides. I honor the light, love, truth, beauty & peace within you, because it is also within me. In sharing these things we are united, we are the same, we are one.

