“Church Face”

ChurchB&WThroughout my life, I have been quite trusting to a degree. Sometimes there are those people who we trust straight away. It could be because they remind us of someone else, or they have a way of making one feel at ease. The problem is that very often people are not what they seem to be.

I am probably going to make myself quite unpopular, but please be aware that I don’t paint everyone with the same brush. I know there are genuine Christians who live their lives accordingly. I applaud them for being diligent in their beliefs. Again, let me say that I know very good Christians. Β I have a friend who is very near and dear who is a full and sincere Christian.

My big problem is with the “Fake Christian.” Now and then I spot them, but when I start getting irked is when their profile updates or captions about themselves read as “God is good” or “Praise the Lord every day.” When I know that there are irregularities going on in their lives, such as having affairs and not living the lives they profess to be living. Then, come Sunday, they don on their church faces and holier than thou innocent looks.

One might argue that this is the reason they go to church because they are not living as they profess to and that they are there for inspiration. They are trying to live a holier life, but then, why if one is going to be a “God is Good” person and one has for example been having an affair for a very long period, then why has the continuous Sunday church going not changed the personal behaviour. Why parade the slogans of what they are not.

I am not perfect, in fact, I am “very imperfect” in many ways. I don’t have slogans about how I supposedly live my life. I am not a fake Christian. Nowadays I don’t even know if I am good enough actually to class myself into the Christian category. I just try my hardest to do my best. A lot of the time my best is quite bad because I don’t see myself as good.

I get hurt and irked when I am affected by these fake people or when people near and dear to me are affected by these fakes. I’m writing this to get it out of my system because I am finding life, its people and the world extremely hard to deal with.

Now, to find a photo to go with this post…

33 thoughts on ““Church Face”

  1. The old joke goes Happy Hugger, “It was a great church, except for the people.” I know exactly how you feel and well, know the conflict it might be throwing you into. I would like to offer at least one thing that is of importance as a Christian and that is patience. God is very patient with all of us, the trouble is we are not as patient as God is with others. Ultimately, as James 5:7-11 can help you see, we are not the judge, but await the True Judge and must see it from a different perspective. I live in Japan, a country with less than 1% Christians (this number includes JW and Mormons in the same category) and do you think that these small congregations of believers are more patient than where Christianity is prevalent? No, they are human and fragile just like you and I. I like your sight, and like that you’re honest. Stay that way and look to God for wisdom. Oh, and keep writing!

    • Thank you for your comment, I appreciate it. Thank you also for being honest and for saying it as you see it. You have given me some pointers to think about. Wisdom, I need lots of it. 🌹

  2. I know exactly how you feel. I am or should I say was a Mormon. They are huge hypocrits in that they go to Sunday and talk about how they needed to follow the example of God and Jesus and then go home to commit fraud, beat and bully their wives etc. My ex husband used the church teachings as an excuse to bully me – he was the head of the house and his word was as good as the word of God – when he threw me out all the sympathy was for him. I have had to shift twice to get away from him. He still refuses to give me a settlement and has spread all these lies about me, that I am greedy etc. Also the church will not involve the police in serious matters – as long as the man repents then it is ok. Yet when woman commits a serious sin she is excommunicated. Now they have put out a new doctrine banning children of same sex parents from joining the church, as well as condemning same sex marriages. I think they are such bigots and now I just don’t want to have anything to do with them.
    We are all children of God and he is the one to judge us, not narrow minded humans.
    Such a good post Michelle.

  3. I know exactly how you feel, too, Hope! I have been struggling with this issue for over a year now. We left a very dysfunctional church and dishonest pastor in October of 2014. Only one person out of that church has bothered to pick up the phone to inquire of how we were doing in over a year. She just died a few days ago and I can’t bring myself to face any of those people at her funeral. So my husband is going. I want to go to honor her, but she knew how I felt about her so I don’t feel I need to prove anything to anyone else. I never want to see any of those people again! Except the people in her family were all always nice to us.

  4. I think, think of my words “I think”, I can understand you. I was born in a catholic family, you know, the kind of catholics who accept everything with the label “catholic”, and… an uncle took advantage of me and ruined part of my life. I say “part of” because life is made of a lot of things, and I found solace in the love of my four legs friends, and human friends, but… what you lived is so difficult to explain and to be understood, even by the most open-minded friends, so, I try to live with the idea nobody will ever understand what I lived, but… I try to live anyway. And, at the end, I think I learnt one thing: eveybody has bruises, it is easy to thinf, for example, “you have so much money”, but no… Bruises are bruises…

  5. Years ago, when I got divorced, I sometimes barely had enough to feed my children. The minister knew what I was going through,everyone knew I was physically being abused by my husband, but not once he came to my house to even just pray or ask how am I doing, how is my children doing. But every month the deacon was there to collect my money for the church. Then one month I told him I am not giving the church anything anymore, because they so obviously do not care about us. I will give my money to some other worthy cause. The next day the minister was on my doorstep. I chased him away. For years I was bitter and did not go to church. Until I realized one day that God is not necessarily in a church. God is everywhere – in so many good things that also happened to me, even though there were sad things as well. I realized that people who call themselves Christians and then disappoint me, should not keep me away from God, or from His church. Because they are people and people fail. God has never failed me, although I might have thought so sometimes. Through the years I have met people that did not believe, but was more Christian-like that any Christian I know. I believe that He will know who to judge how when the time comes. Until then, I just try to be the best person I can be.

    • Thank you for sharing with us Son. I absolutely agree with you about sometimes the non believers are more “Christian like” than some Christians. One doesn’t have to to go to church and put on a show to be a good person. Like you, I just try to be the best I can be. 🌹🌹🌹

  6. Most people are not what they seem to be Michelle. I know quite a few of these ‘fake christians’, but who am I to judge? When I see these people I remind myself that we all live in our own realities and that we all differ. As long as they don’t interfere in my life and cause me problems, I won’t have a problem with them. The minute they do, they will have more problems than they ever wished for.

    I am sorry to hear they are hurting and affecting you and glad that you can get it out of your system by writing about it. I would want to do more than that, if you get my drift. πŸ˜†

  7. Nice posting! I have missed visiting you, having lots of ups and downs with illnesses, but wanted to wish you a Happy New Year, may it be blessed abundantly with love, happiness, joy, spiritual healing, and lasting inner peace. God bless you my sister!

  8. You are very insightful aren’t you?
    Ironically, some self-professed religious folk live with a strong sense of shame. They hide behind their apparent belief to make themselves feel better.
    Truth and kindness are the only way forward, warmly Nicole

  9. I agree totally with you Michelle. My faith is held in my heart, as a Christian, but I haven’t attended church for many years for all the reasons you state. God knows our hearts, and He listens to our cries for help. I hope you’re feeling a little better…sending a big hug ❀

Namaste. My soul honors your soul. I honor the place in you where the entire universe resides. I honor the light, love, truth, beauty & peace within you, because it is also within me. In sharing these things we are united, we are the same, we are one.

