Learning little lessons…

DSC_1240-privateAnyone who has either visited South Africa or who lives here will know what I’m talking about when I say that the roads are in a shocking condition. One of the roads I travel on every day is a hit and miss affair. One has to pay extra attention to the holes in the road if you don’t want a flat by driving right into one of them. Surprisingly, one of these are being fixed.

My youngest daughter, who has just turned nine, and I were driving along on one of these roads. We were discussing the way the road is being tarred. She thought they were doing it properly, and I thought it was just not up to scratch. So, her and I were having a little friendly debate about this. I started my next sentence by saying “well, in my humble opinion…” She stopped me right there and said “Mom, you’re allowed to have opinions about anything, but the thing is, your opinion is not always that humble.” I was totally floored. It caused me to think about how my opinions are truly not humble that sometimes my opinions are quite arrogant.

My little daughter, whom I see as an old soul, has taught me quite a few lessons so far in her beautiful nine years. I thought I’d share one of them with you.

45 thoughts on “Learning little lessons…

  1. Kids eh? You have been told …. now behave , M!.
    It is one of the most over-used, (and often) insincere phrase: IMHO, but we all do it, dont we? . Rather just say, ”I think ….”
    Sounds less arrogant. πŸ˜‰
    And talking of smart kids …
    We were at dinner once upon a time. Emily was tiny – 3 or 4? when one of the male guests burped rather loudly and Ems pipes up . ”Sies , pig!”
    You could of heard a pin drop.
    But good for her, because the bloke in question was a bit of a Boor.

  2. Your daughter’s very wise indeed! And don’t underestimate the massive role you have played, and continue to play, that allows her to flourish in this way!

    As for the condition of our roads, enough said… πŸ˜‰

Namaste. My soul honors your soul. I honor the place in you where the entire universe resides. I honor the light, love, truth, beauty & peace within you, because it is also within me. In sharing these things we are united, we are the same, we are one.

