The characters in my mind…

oldroseEThe Daily Prompt:

Many of us had imaginary friends as young children. If your imaginary friend grew up alongside you, what would his/her/its life be like today?

(Didn’t have one? write about a non-imaginary friend you haven’t seen since childhood.)

You may find this quite silly, but my first imaginary friend was “Noddy.”    It will make sense when I tell you that I started having imaginary friends at a very young age.  With Noddy I was around five years old.  Noddy and I spent many hours driving around in his little red and yellow car – in my mind that is.  He also patiently also wiped away many a tear.

As I grew older I had various imaginary friends, ranging from the characters of the “Famous Five”,  The Secret Seven and many others.  There was also an excruciatingly funny and naughty little boy named “William.” When I was alone my mind and its occupants were my greatest friends.

As I grew older I realised how much I loved detective novels and so I became very good imaginary friends with Miss Marple and Hercule Poirot.

Over the years, I have had so many imaginary friends from the books I have read…so I can boast with having much more imaginary friends than real life ones.

23 thoughts on “The characters in my mind…

  1. I can’t say I have actual imaginary friends as such, but I do imagine myself into the lives of the characters 😉
    And you have very good taste in imaginary friends Esperanza – Miss Marple and Hercule Poirot are firm favourites of myself 🙂

  2. Shows you have a great imagination and can boast adult imaginary friends in books! I don’t think I ever had such a childhood friend and I usually forget the heroes in my books as soon as the story is over. 🙂

  3. I also did lots of reading when I was a child. I think one gets so caught up in the stories, that it’s easy to imagine that the characters are real. I loved Richmal Crompton’s ‘Just William’ stories. 🙂

  4. A friend is a friend, I don’t think it matters if they’re real or imaginary. All that matters is that they keep things interesting and help you out when you need it 🙂

Namaste. My soul honors your soul. I honor the place in you where the entire universe resides. I honor the light, love, truth, beauty & peace within you, because it is also within me. In sharing these things we are united, we are the same, we are one.

