It’s a Sin

Mantis

My neighbour had the most beautiful, gorgeous, very green and leafy nut-tree growing down the bottom edge of his garden.  A few Sundays ago I was woken by the grating sounds of a chainsaw, only to find that he had people in to cut that glorious tree down.  I was so sad.

When he moved in a few years ago I thought he was lucky to be moving in to a house with such a lovely established garden.  Then it was fuller with lovely shrubs and trees, but he also decided to hack away at them too, although he left the lovely big tree standing.  I was pleased to see that he had not taken that lovely tree down then, but as you have read, he chopped it down now.

I cannot understand why people do this.  This neighbour of mine is doctor,  now surely one would think that he would have a bit more sense than that.  In my eye’s, it is surely is a sin. 

42 thoughts on “It’s a Sin

  1. We were out trimming our trees and bushes over the weekend. But cutting them down or removing them? Only if they are diseased or dead! And even then we wait, and wait, hoping they will come back. If this neighbor is a medical doctor I wonder if he is as quick to recommend surgery to his patients!

  2. People have their own ideas about what is beauiful. He most liklely did not like dealing with the nuts that dropped. I have landscaped many places only to drive by and see they tookthe plants out or let plants die.

  3. My son and I sobbed when we came home to find that my now ex-husband arranged to cut down a 200 year old black walnut tree in our back yard. When we got there, the men were sawing off the last of the huge arms of the tree. I felt as if I was watching a dismemberment. Alex and I hugged each other and mourned over the fact that we didn’t even get to say goodbye to that stately, beautiful tree. He cut it down for the value of the wood. It was obscene. A little part of my heart closed off to him that day. And he got angry at me for being so upset. He actually thought I was crazy and a bad role model for our son. 😐

  4. He must be related to the neighbors on either side of me. Total sin, and complete lunacy. I am sorry for the tree, and sorry you have lost such pretty surroundings. I feel your pain.

Namaste. My soul honors your soul. I honor the place in you where the entire universe resides. I honor the light, love, truth, beauty & peace within you, because it is also within me. In sharing these things we are united, we are the same, we are one.

