I don’t fit in.

Purple

The Daily Prompt:

Even the most laid back and egalitarian among us can be insufferable snobs when it comes to coffee, music, cars, beer, or any other pet obsession where things have to be just so. What are you snobbish about?

It’s like this.  I don’t fit in, often.  It no longer worries me that I don’t fit in, I’m quite ok with that, but in years gone by it chewed me up really badly.  Still sometimes I am stupid enough to hold out the hand of friendship and more often than not, it is turned down.  I want to add that I have really tried hard with some people, but now my attitude is that I don’t really care.  If someone is too good, posh or in a highfalutin snotty social group and they feel that I am just too lowly for them, well then I strike them of my caring list; well, not exactly, but I’m sure you know what I mean.

So, gone are the days that I worry about not making the grade in other people’s books…and thats about as snotty as I can get.  I pull my nose up at those who pull their noses up at me.  lol.  This is why I prefer animals to people.

Anyway, I am lucky enough to have a very sincere blog friend who seems to see the world in a similar way that I do, and I am grateful for that 🙂

44 thoughts on “I don’t fit in.

  1. I don’t fit in either. I especially don’t fit in my trousers, these days, but also a few shorts, shirts and T shirts. Oh, and occasionally, if I am half asleep, I don’t fit both legs in the same leg hole of my underpants.

    You see, you are in great company after all!

  2. Pingback: A Slice of Snobbery | Keyboard Pizza

  3. Oi, for years I was worried silly about not fitting in … but with age comes wisdom … or rather ‘selfsugtigheid’ if they don’t like me – I won’t cry, if they don’t fit in with me – good riddance. I love your blog!

  4. I don’t fit in either. That’s why I am online instead. All the years of PTA moms and other school activities for M? I was the one who didn’t belong, stood out for being different. Same with my family. I am working toward being OK with just being “me” but it took a long time to get there.

  5. And you’re not going to tell us who that blog friend is? How selfish! 🙂 But you might be looking at this all wrong. Maybe the ones who are acting all highfalluting are actually the ones who think they are somehow inferior to you.

  6. I don’t care if I fit in or not, not any more. I am me and if people don’t like me, that’s their problem, not mine. I have one close friend, and that’s all I need. No-one is better than me because there is no other me and only I can be the best me and that has nothing to do with what anyone else says or thinks because they can only be the best them, and that is up to them, not me 😉

  7. I didn’t used to fit it when I was younger, now I don’t think about it. Either something clicks or it doesn’t. No longer any skin off my nose. Please yourself and a few good friends are better than lots. Quality versus quantity. ❤ ❤ ❤ You have the right idea.

  8. I have never fit into the ‘mold’ that other people or a group of people try to establish. I used to try at one point in my life, but learned that I was a square peg often trying to fit into a round hole. So I stopped trying and dared to be myself …flaws and all… Diane

  9. You are not alone… I don’t fit in with my coworkers… I have tried and just have given up trying. Problem is that when there’s a company function, I feel way out there on left field… I just try on those occasions and make the best of it, but sometimes I feel drained… It is draining me, but I meditate and all is good again… I just need one BFF in FL. I have them in NJ, but that doesn’t do me any good… Much love…

  10. Oh, don’t I know that feeling just so well. I think when you get older, you stop caring more about people like that Michelle and it’s fun treating them the way they treat you, especially those snobs. Who wants to fit in with people like that anyways? Bleh! They’re boring! Animals are way more fun than them as well. I am also grateful for my blog friend who feels the same way as I do about all these things. 😀

    The flower shot is absolutely stunning too. I just love the colours! Great post hon. 😀
    ♥ Big Hugs ♥

  11. I think that people who look down on others are torturing themselves by trying to live in a highly self critical world created by themselves. I am so happy not to be one of them.

Namaste. My soul honors your soul. I honor the place in you where the entire universe resides. I honor the light, love, truth, beauty & peace within you, because it is also within me. In sharing these things we are united, we are the same, we are one.

