A very sad post

20131007_094239_FotorTwo days ago I told you about this special little kitty. She did not seem to have anything wrong with her except for a very leaky eye and she was also very squint.  At about three am I put my hand on her to scratch her little head, but she did not respond like she usually had over the past two days.  Her normal way would be to purr and start playing with my hand.

She just lay there purring this time, it alarmed me a bit so I put picked her up, but I she seemed so out of sorts.  I called the vet who has an emergency number but there was only an answering machine.  I felt so inadequate and useless.  We kept rubbing her and kept her warm, but after about 3 hours she stopped breathing… I prayed for her so much over those three hours.

I cannot tell you how heavy my heart is, my children are so sad, we are all just so sad.  We loved her very much in those two short days…

86 thoughts on “A very sad post

  1. Oh Michelle, i am so very very sorry for the loss of your new kitty. That is heartbreaking. I guess the veterinarian in me is so curious. When you posted about her eye, I wanted so badly to ask you if FIV (Feline Immunodeficiency Virus) and FeLV (feline leukemia virus) are problems in South Africa, but I didn’t. They are both very prevalent here in the US. Again, I am so sorry for the loss and pain you are feeling. ❤

  2. I am so very sorry you lost her, but I am glad that in the short time she had that she had the love and warmth of a loving family that held her and let her know she wasn’t alone. I truly believe animals connect to that more than some people give them credit for.

    ((Hugs)) and peace to you.

  3. Oh I am so sorry Michelle. It is heartbreaking to hear, a bond with a an animal is created in a very short time. It is wonderful she had your love during her short life. Very traumatic to lose her so quickly and not knowing why-hugs to you. ❤

  4. Michelle, I’m sad for your loss ~ there are no words that can express how sad I feel even though you only had your kitty for 2 days, it still pains me. Just know I am sending you and your family healing hugs. Rest in Peace dear little kitty…you were loved. ♥

  5. My hearfelt sympathies.
    You know we have had zillions of cats over the years?
    But they reach an age were they begin to pass, and as one often gets them all as kittens the loss of one seems to have a snowball effect.
    But when they go whilst kittens it is even more heart-sore, as it seems a friend has been bereft of the chance at life.

  6. Michelle I’m so very sad that this should happen. Bless that little kitty, and bless you all too. I hope you can can gain comfort from the fact that you gave this little kitten a loving home, if only for a few days – you did all you could. *lots of hugs*

  7. Awwwww …. how sad! She was very cute. She must have gotten very sick suddenly. At least she was blessed with a family who loved her in her final moments.

    Blessings,
    Judy

  8. Hugs to you and your little ones.
    Her little life may have been short, though she knew Love. And now your children understand more about life, and love.
    A sad, yet honourable experience. Much love to you.

Namaste. My soul honors your soul. I honor the place in you where the entire universe resides. I honor the light, love, truth, beauty & peace within you, because it is also within me. In sharing these things we are united, we are the same, we are one.

