Much obliged.

origrose

The Daily Prompt:

What’s the best (or rather, worst) backhanded compliment you’ve ever received? If you can’t think of any — when’s the last time someone paid you a compliment you didn’t actually deserve?

Compliments are strange things. It’s the level at which the praise is given that sometimes bothers me, because often there are underlying motives behind the compliment. I think we become more attuned to the levels of sincerity after a while, especially as we get older.

When I was younger I would swallow any compliments I got, but I learnt the hard way that they were not always as sincere as one would think they are.

I don’t want to undermine the sincere compliment though, those are the ones I appreciate from the bottom of my heart.

One compliment that I will never forget was from one of my eldest daughter’s friends. He said. “You rock Ms H, you rock harder than stones!” I was not too sure if that was a good or bad thing. I checked with daughter after her friend had left and apparently it was a good thing. 😀

26 thoughts on “Much obliged.

  1. That sounded like the most sincerest compliment ever Michelle. So full of innocence and joy. How blessed they are to have you around indeed hon.

    Just like you I don’t believe every compliment and can tell when it’s been sincere or someone just telling me ‘what they think I want to hear’, but well, at least they tried. 😆 Some humans are just strange. 😛

    Stunning rose and I felt like pressing my nose to the screen in the hope of smelling it. hahahaha! You remember in the magazines at some stage they had the ‘scratch’ part where you could smell some perfume? That’s how I felt. But I don’t think my screen would do well in that ‘scratching’ department. LOL!

    Great shot and post. Loved it! 😀

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Why, Thank You? | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice

  3. Haha you do rock…. I was told I am a cool mum. I was happy. Well I do like to give compliments and do mean them. Sometimes it makes someone’s day. I alos like to receive a compliment and it makes my day!

Namaste. My soul honors your soul. I honor the place in you where the entire universe resides. I honor the light, love, truth, beauty & peace within you, because it is also within me. In sharing these things we are united, we are the same, we are one.

