Nosy Message.

Vintageboat

The Daily Prompt

A misused word, a misremembered song lyric, a cream pie that just happened to be there: tell us about a time you (or someone else) said or did something unintentionally funny.

I have always loved the song “Message in a bottle” by the Police.  Anyway, for years I have been singing along, in my mind, sometimes out of my mouth, the following words:

” A year has passed since I broke my nose”

the correct words are:

“A year has passed since I wrote my note”

So anyway, just recently, I downloaded this song on my iPod and was playing it in the car when I heard, as clear as daylight; Sting did not break his nose a year ago, but rather wrote his note!

The lyrics had crossed my mind as being a bit odd, the breaking of the nose and all.  I’m sure I would have caused quite boisterous laughter if anyone had of heard me sing this song – hopefully no one did.

*Hugs*

36 thoughts on “Nosy Message.

  1. Today, now that I am older, I sometimes have trouble understanding the message in the songs, let alone get the correct words. I have done what you did too. LOL You gave the song a whole new twist!

  2. This makes me laugh b/c I have been known to make up my own lyrics to songs as well as it’s what I heard and not what they actually were! My sons are really good at lyrics and correct me when I’m wrong. Sometimes they think I’m crazy b/c I’m so off of what the lyrics truly are! ) Giggle Giggle. Thanks for sharing…like your quote above…I thought no one by myself did that! xo

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Uncanned Laughter – Smitty Boats | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice

  4. Pingback: the mountain may be high | Musings of a Random Mind

  5. Sting can be quite mumbly. I remember The Police getting early UK TV exposure on a BBC news show hosted by Sue Lawley. She wanted to know why they had written about her. The song? “So Lonely”…

  6. Whahahah Michelle! Good thing I wasn’t there either. We would have ended up on the side of the road, hysterical with laughter. Don’t worry, I do that often. Thanks for the laugh. 😀 ♥ Big Hugs ♥

  7. When I was younger, I always thought Sting was singing “I’m a pool hall ace” instead of “How my poor heart aches” in “Every Breath You Take.” When I admitted this to two friends, the mockery lasted for several hours on and off.

Namaste. My soul honors your soul. I honor the place in you where the entire universe resides. I honor the light, love, truth, beauty & peace within you, because it is also within me. In sharing these things we are united, we are the same, we are one.

