It leaves me cold.

 

loversThe Daily Prompt:

When was the last time a movie, a book, or a television show left you cold despite all your friends (and/or all the critics) raving about it? What was it that made you go against the critical consensus?

❤ 

I think I may have mentioned this one here before and now, much to amazement, I see they are actually making a movie of it.  The one leaving me cold is “50 Shades of Grey.”  It seems that everyone in the world just loves these books and apparently not  not leaving them cold.

Now, I am one to give a book a chance but after the first three chapters I had already started pulling my nose up, then after plunging deeper into the next few chapters, I decided to give it up.

I have also found that some seem to think they are “cool” or “with it” or whatever the correct phrase may be to have read it and, even worse, to be swooning over it.

It is just a bit of “blue” writing which is jazzed up with a bit of a plot.  I am no prude and have an open mind, even too open minded some might think, but I like to enjoy what I’m reading.  I love nothing better than a well-told story, great plot and hopefully a jolly good twist in the end.

The one time I wrote about this someone commented and said that they don’t thing E.L. James would even give a hoot as to what I think, – but I am entitled to air and express my own opinion, right?  So, yes, this one I just don’t get.

42 thoughts on “It leaves me cold.

  1. You are not the first person I have read who has said this. Result? I haven’t even bothered to open the book. To be honest, sex scenes do not really make a story or good writing.

  2. I don’t know the books, but checked if there was a movie or series. Is it this one?

    If so, then I am not interested either. Now, if they put some hot hunk in the lead role .. then maybe I’ll watch it. 😆

  3. I am not crazy about it either… I downloaded the pdf and so i will try to read it to see if I’m right, but i think I will be. The whole awe of the book and the movie… I don’t get it. i watched the trailer. Blah.

    I will comment more about it when I attempt to read it… Judging by the last book I have started reading I frown upon some sex scenes and in some moment I turned the book around to make sure that that was written by woman for women… I could not imagine a woman who would enjoy penetration so strong to slide them across the table half a meter!! (actual scene!) My first and only thought was, Auuuuuuu!
    And some other stuff like women glorifying man’s penis (?) I really haven’t expect this in a chick-lit. And no mention of contraception, there is all about pleasuring men. Dislike, big time.

      • I am so enjoying the fact that comments have the like button now 😀
        I will see… But if it’s anything like this, I will not read past first few chapters… :/ Even the S&M community (on which this is supposed to be about) called on book(s) for being total bullshit and not representing that type of fetish. so, if book failed at S&M and in just regular sex, why such success? I sure don’t know…

      • When I was younger (maybe it was last year? The year before?) I delighted in sex scenes in novels, in the movies, in the bedroom. But I have matured, aged a bit. Now I only prefer them in the bedroom. My bedroom! In a movie, a sex or nude scene takes me right out of the movie. In a novel it just stops the action. And if I happen to be reading a non-fiction novel there is no place for it at all! This novel’s only reason for existent seems to be to bring bdsm into the bedroom. Or the boardroom. It has nothing to do with sex from what I understand. I did try reading it but could not make it through an entire chapter. The writing is abominable (not a word I use very often). But you know what H. L. Mencken said: “Nobody ever went broke underestimating the taste of the American public.”

      • I have also changed a whole lot in my taste of books and movies. Agree about the bedroom too. With books, I pass over those sections that I don’t like and am happy to get back to the actual story.
        *Hugs*

  4. LoL! So I just finished writing my prompt and was going through the different posts for today and was sooooo elated to see another woman who didn’t like it either!!

    I read the whole series though, rolling my eyes the whole way through. Needless to say, you did not miss anything and it did NOT get better.

  5. I read it. Disliked it. Watched the trailer in the comments section of your post and didn’t like that either. The whole premise of control and being subservient does nothing for me, nor does the violence of hitting even when it’s portrayed as stimulating. BLECH. So perhaps that means I am a prude? Then so be it. 🙂

  6. I’m with you… I’m not prudish, but it was not to my appeal… I did finish the first book after pushing myself to finish, but I will not sit through the movie…

  7. I can’t tell you the exact last time, but it has happened to me on and off for my entire life. There are stars whom I don’t care for that others simply love and there are those I love who others simply don’t care for. I know that, for one, while everyone loved Robin Williams, most people did not care for “Bicentennial Man” which I still think is his best movie. I absolutely love it.
    Just goes to show,
    Scott

  8. Good one Michelle, well you’re certainly not on your own. I hate it! In my office they were all reading it and swooning about it. Personally I think it’s sexist trash of the worst kind. They say sex sells, it may do, but not to me! 🙂

Namaste. My soul honors your soul. I honor the place in you where the entire universe resides. I honor the light, love, truth, beauty & peace within you, because it is also within me. In sharing these things we are united, we are the same, we are one.

