Double Check.

Purple flowerThe Daily Prompt:

What are some (or one) of the things about which you usually don’t trust your own judgment,

and need someone’s else’s confirmation?

I always need a second opinion on my writing and artwork.  As far as artwork for my job is concerned, well that is a little easier because I am following what someone else wants and when the artwork is finished the client signs and acceptance of the artwork which in itself for me is a confirmation on my own abilities on the work front. 

When it comes to my own artwork, meaning something that I created which is just me, then I need a second opinion.  My family often give me their feelings which help me quite a lot, especially since my family are all quite and arty lot. 

The writing though, well that is a big thing for me.  I hold back all the time.  I have a friend who reads over my writing and often gives me superb pointers and directions in which to go when I’ve written something.  The thing is that I can’t always bombard my friend with my writing as my friend is a very busy person…but it’s there; if my friend says its good and that I should continue then I feel much more at ease.

18 thoughts on “Double Check.

  1. I have to admit it but I too require a second opinion on things frequently. I think most of us need the confirmation/affirmation that we are “good enough”.

  2. I can also relate. I seem to have very poor judgment when it comes to my own work. The pictures or poems I think are good pieces of work tend to bring the least reactions from others and sometimes those I just create “off the cuff” tend to be well-liked. I consider myself almost completely clueless when it comes to my own work. To be honest, I find it rather frustrating. You are lucky to have that friend you can trust, even if you can’t use him/her that often.
    I love the picture BTW!

  3. I found that it is very limiting to ask individuals to comment on anything I write or produce. I found those close to you can hinder your ability to go outside the box. We must run wild and free in our minds if we want to reach outstanding outcomes. Example – you ask a person about problems you have in your relationship. This person share his/her perspectives with you and attempt to assist you with your problem. The joke is that we often ask the advice of individuals that as in the example above are working through his/her third divorce. You are an outstanding writer and painter and should continue to expand your confidence in your activities without the blessing or approval of anyone.

    PS – How did manage to advertise on your blog. When I make the smallest error that just look like advertising they suspend my blog. – Rene

    • Hello dear Rene, you always say just the right thing to make the penny drop in my mind. You are right, why should I ask for anyone’s approval but my own.

      I wasn’t aware of your blog problems – I don’t have any advertising except for the blog challenges. ❤
      *Hugs*

  4. There is no such thing as being contented with what you have written. As you proof read, you will keep changing or adding words. Same thing with me. I am just writing love letters and usually it takes me a day before I can finally hit the save and close tab.

Namaste. My soul honors your soul. I honor the place in you where the entire universe resides. I honor the light, love, truth, beauty & peace within you, because it is also within me. In sharing these things we are united, we are the same, we are one.

