Erratic

Vintage letter

The Daily Prompt:
When was the last time you experienced writer’s block? What do you think brought it about — and how did you dig your way out of it?
My writing is quite erratic to say the least.  Most of my writing happens in my head when I’m nowhere near the laptop or a piece of paper and a pen.  I think many will relate to the writing of volumes in ones head whilst driving or walking. 
My worst one though, is when I suddenly wake up in the middle of the night – inspired, not necessarily always with “good” inspiration though, but there is writing which has to be done and it has to be done at that precise moment, else all will be lost.  
The trouble with this night time inspiration is the that it is dead quiet, all I hear is the cat purring, but the little doggie is another kettle of fish altogether.  If he sees any motion, he will start barking in his high pitched bark and wake every soul in a one kilometre or more radius. 
I have had many “writers blocks” but not lately.  My problem is time, I just don’t have enough time.  As most will agree, work comes first and when there are orders to be done I have to concentrate on that first.
I do sit in front of the laptop when I’m waiting for moulds to set or other such things.  My work entails waiting, but not enough waiting time to actually get my teeth deeply enough into some serious, uninterrupted writing.
20 thoughts on “Erratic

  1. Oh I am quite surprised you too get writers block because you write so beautifully 😦 I agree our creativity is at its best when we are inspired 🙂

  2. It’s never about time, you know. If you discard that as an issue, what else is left to consider? I write a journal entry every morning that I possibly can. Evenings too, if I get that organised. I started this when doing Julia Cameron’s ‘The Artist’s Way’. I’m not prolific as an artist/writer – everything comes slowly to me – but I’d produce a lot less if I didn’t journal. It’s like tunneling my way out of the world! 🙂

  3. Writing isn’t designed for a regular schedule. Your strategy of getting a few sentences down when the inspiration and time come together is a good one. I work on more than one project at a time, so when one piece turns sour, I work on something else for a while.

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Writer’s Block Party | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice

  5. I have been known to write on paper bags, or napkins whatever is handy in the middle of the night. and I don’t turn on the light…so you can imagine what the writing looks like in the light of day! LOL!

Namaste. My soul honors your soul. I honor the place in you where the entire universe resides. I honor the light, love, truth, beauty & peace within you, because it is also within me. In sharing these things we are united, we are the same, we are one.

