The Eighth Sin…

ChurchB&WThe Daily Prompt:
Remember the seven cardinal sins? You’re given the serious task of adding a new one to the list — another trait or behavior you find particularly unacceptable, for whatever reason. What’s sin #8 for you? Why?
1. Greed – Wanting too much of something.
2. Gluttony – Similar to greed, but gluttony is the action of taking too much of something in.
3. Lust – The need to fulfill unspiritual desires (not just sexual desires, but this is usually what lust is associated with.)
4. Envy – Jealousy; wanting to have what someone has.
5. Sloth – Being too slow or lazy at doing something.
6. Wrath – Vindictive anger; angry revenge.
7. Pride – Being too self-satisfied  –  from (Urban Dictionary)
My addition:
I would like to have one word in which to describe this, but unfortunately I can’t think of one.  Something I’ve seen at play many times. My number 8 would be  “Don’t hide behind your religion”  Meaning: one should not twist the beliefs of their religion in order to justify their own or others wrong doings.  
23 thoughts on “The Eighth Sin…

  1. I agree with you in this one Michelle. So often people cite their religion as a reason for their behaviour when what they are really doing is following their own desires.

  2. Well said Michelle! I feel the same! I love this little church you’ve captured so beautifully! Great post hon. 😀 ♥ Big Hugs ♥

  3. Pingback: An Eighth Sin? Pffff Whatever | Keyboard Pizza

  4. Pingback: I’m Back! | shivansh chaudhary

  5. Pingback: Eighth Sin Responses | 99 Problems And Done

  6. Pingback: The 8th Deadly Sin: Story Spoiling | TyroCharm

Namaste. My soul honors your soul. I honor the place in you where the entire universe resides. I honor the light, love, truth, beauty & peace within you, because it is also within me. In sharing these things we are united, we are the same, we are one.

