Conversations with stangers

purple

The Daily Prompt

It turns out that your neighbor on the plane/bus/train (or the person sitting at the next table at the coffee shop) is a very, very chatty tourist. Do you try to switch seats, go for a non-committal brief small talk, or make this person your new best friend?

I would go for the non-committal brief small talk.  I am a loner, always have been, always will be.  Nothing anyone can say or do that will change that.  In the old days they called me shy, well now shy has a new name and that is “Introvert.”  
The friends I make are few and far between.   I must say that I cringe inwardly when someone is more friendly than I would like them to be.   I often think of it in-comparison to how cats are; you know, when a person doesn’t like cats, cats just go to them.  I love cats by the way.  
Anyway, people sometimes ask my opinion in stores.  I honestly don’t know why they do that because I have a very closed body language out in public.  I know this probably does not sound nice of me, but it’s as I said “Introvert.”
My mother on the other hand will get into huge conversations with strangers and find out their whole pedigree from the day they were born.  Fortunately my children are also quite outspoken and that is good – I think one gets along much better in this world when one is not introverted.
29 thoughts on “Conversations with stangers

  1. I can relate, so much. But being introvert isn’t bad either. Many leaders are introverts. Introverts aren’t shy or anything, they just refrain from talking too much. In actuality they are glib speakers, when they get a chance to put forth their views.

  2. I have my quiet days ..but also my chatty ones. I will chat with older people who are sitting alone…and often find out that they are lonely..and seem to enjoy the chat.
    On a plane, a friendly person can be a bonus to while away the time.
    Sometimes l look around the bus, plane, train, etc and feel the world is such an insular place..and a bit of chat can relieve this ..l find it is easy to spot when someone else does not wish to chat..and you leave it at that. So Michelle, don’t mind me if l compliment you on your shoes or your bag …. and ask where you got them …..l will know if you don’t want to chat when you might say “they are borrowed” or “l don’t remember” . 🙂 l will not mind if you have a zip on the lip.

  3. Bless! I get burnt out sometimes by too many social contacts and crave time by myself to replenish. It helps you to know where you start and other people leave off. Writers and artists need alone time! xxx

  4. I probably would start off like you, but take my first opportunity to move without making it obvious that I was moving to get away from the person so as not to insult him/her. I’m a highly sensitive person and an introvert. I prefer silence to noise! I know I miss out on lots of opportunities to meet nice people, but it’t the price I must pay…

  5. I always get the window seat so I can turn inwards if needed. Generally I do not like small talk with strangers but I did meet a lovely woman and daughter on my last flight and we spoke for almost 5 hours which is really rare for me so I take each flight on an individual basis! Hugs!

Namaste. My soul honors your soul. I honor the place in you where the entire universe resides. I honor the light, love, truth, beauty & peace within you, because it is also within me. In sharing these things we are united, we are the same, we are one.

