Shadows and nightmares.

abstractsonel
The Daily Prompt:
More and more of us go to bed too late because of sleep procrastination.
What are the nighttime rituals that keep you up before finally dozing off?
I am terrible at night.  My OCD does not help much either.  The general routine for me, when I’m not anxious, is to watch a bit of TV, slop face creams, neck creams and eye gels (you name it, I have it,) then maybe a bit of TV, definitely some reading.
This is how it goes on anxious days. Which is more often than non anxious days.  Once everyone is in bed, I will go and check that the doors are locked.  Everything gets checked and re checked. Now that it’s winter, I also go around to each room and check to see if the heaters are off and if the occupant of that room wants to sleep with the heater on, well then I have to check that it is in a safe position and that there is nothing too close to the heater.
If my eldest daughter is out I generally can’t sleep until she has come home, and sometimes this is only at around 1 am.  I leave the TV on with the security cameras on so that I can see when she gets back.  Sometimes I will doze off, but usually I hear the gate opening, then I watch to be sure her and her friends are in safe and that the gate is closed again.  She will not be impressed to know that I check on her like this.
The worst thing though is the nightmares.  I have been having so many of them lately that I actually try to stay awake as long as I possibly can.  The latest nightmares have been really awful.  It usually helps if I blog the dream or tell it to someone, but these are so awful I can’t even retell them.
40 thoughts on “Shadows and nightmares.

  1. Pingback: Now I Lay My Head Down To Sleep and Other Rituals | Prairie Views

  2. Nights can be such torture, can’t they? The mind (well, mine anyway!) starts going down paths it never should go down. Shudder. I too am working at learning ways to cope. I hope we both get there! Hugs to you. ❤

  3. Interesting post… I am a bit of an OCD when it comes to checking if all the doors are locked and the stove is off and all things that should not be on aren’t… even sometimes trying to convince myself that I did check a certain door ends in me getting up to check it again… as for sleep, a book and I’m off to dream occasionally. Now with my latest development as described in my last post, I’m hoping the machine will make all else so much easier…

  4. Stressful Michelle to say the least. Also the less sleep you have the more stressed you’ll feel, due to the immune system crashing – not surprised you’re having nightmares. Try doing some meditation, don’t worry if the thoughts come in, just acknowledge them and move on. Try breathing exercises to help you relax, also physical exercise throughout the day produces a natural feel good chemical. If I can be any more help please let me know hun. 🙂

  5. Have you tried hypnosis to try to relax? I think that we all worry about our children out and I get jittery when my children are late from anything. We are being loving and caring parents. Take care. 😀

    • I reckon as parents we do, I agree with you Raewyn. I once had hypnotherapy from a psychologist, but that was not too successful – maybe the wrong therapist, I don’t know.
      *Hugs*

  6. A good idea on going to sleep is to imagine strongly that you have aquired super-powers enabling you to knock the stuffing out of anything that comes up – and then go to sleep hoping for something to practise them on! 🙂

  7. I know what this feel like! I too have a bad habit of staying up til all hours simply because I know my sleep will be a struggle, for one reason of another. Stress is never easy.

    I find one of the best ways to clear my head of nonsense is to read something light for about ten minutes before lights out.

    Going for a morning walk/jog helps tremendously: boosts the serotonin levels and normally sets the day up right.

    • Thanks for the tips Ark. I used to walk around the block which is quite big, but it often does not feel safe, even in broad daylight.
      This is one of the reasons I love short stories, they help a lot too.

      *Hugs*

  8. There are many relaxation tips to help. I know you will find one that works best for you. Anxiety causes many health issues – my prayers and hugs are with you.

  9. Along the good suggestions offered — I have a couple as well that help me. Lavender essential oil on the bottom of your sleep, and look at EmoTrance (short for emotional transformation — the movement of energies, something you can easily do yourself). Trust this will help! 😀

  10. I have the opposite of sleep procrastination. I can’t wait to get into bed. My dreams are often vivid and none to pleasant on occasion, but I love to sleep. You see, I had insomnia for many years and now I don’t. Now I’m sleeping with the right man!

Namaste. My soul honors your soul. I honor the place in you where the entire universe resides. I honor the light, love, truth, beauty & peace within you, because it is also within me. In sharing these things we are united, we are the same, we are one.

