Rude?

Nature382

The Daily Prompt:

You walk into your home to find a couple you don’t know sitting in your living room, eating a slice of cake. Tell us what happens next.

❀

I think it is most unmannerly to be an uninvited guest. This has happened to me a few times, but now I have a little gate camera and a high wall, so when the gate bell rings, I look at the camera to see who it is…it is at that moment that I decide if I am home or not. πŸ˜‰ I know it must sound quite unkind of me, but I am a creature of aloofness most of the time.Β 
Here is a different scenario though. Recently I got up really early because I couldn’t sleep. I tip-toed off to the kitchen in my nightie, no gown, to make some tea. As I entered the lounge I found three sleeping bodies on my couches. Of course, I got a huge fright and tip-toed back to my room very quickly.
I realised that these people must be friends of my eldest daughter who has her own little place on the same property… I phoned her, only to get this really tired voice on the other end. She said they were out very late, and decided it was best if some of the boys/young men slept in the lounge rather than drive home. I felt quite uncomfortable in my own home, but how could I complain when they were being quite sensible?

For: The Daily Prompt

Royalty Free Image

28 thoughts on “Rude?

  1. Totally get that feeling. One of our sons was very social, and as he was growing up we were the house where they would congregate. We had mixed feelings as we were happy that we could monitor things and good to know who his friends were, but some privacy was sacrificed. In retrospect I think we got used to it. Now that he is grown and moved out, it is kind of quiet around here. We did have to set some boundaries, but in the end it was a foundation for a great relationship with our adult son.

    • You explained the situation just about as it is here, mg. I think it is wise to make some sacrifices, because soon my daughter will be out of the house and conquering the world – I would still like to be a part of that. ❀ Thank you for reading and sharing your experience πŸ™‚
      *Hugs*

  2. I’d freak for sure but once I calmed down, I’m sure I’d see reason.
    Can’t blame you for being nervous. I’ve never had anyone walk into my house but I know a story for another time. πŸ™‚

  3. I think in this day and age, this type of sensibility is rare – and wonderful that the decision was made to stay and rest, as opposed to leave tired and possibly reckless. Smart young lady you got there;)

  4. Oh that would have frightened me when I saw men sleeping on my couch, but then again, if they were breaking in they would not be sleeping. The camera is a good idea. Us gals can never be too cautious

  5. I would have found it ‘uncomfortable’. If you wouldn’t want to be disturbed by your daughter telling you there was someone else in the house.. maybe in future you could ask her to leave you a note or message… somewhere determined by you….Diane

  6. hehehehe, it also happened to me once Michelle. We sure are quite the pair hon and just like you I don’t like uninvited guests as well. My son’s visitors can be glad I wasn’t naked. LOL! But just like you I also saw the sensible side of it. πŸ˜€

    Great post and love the photo! πŸ˜€ β™₯ Big Hugs β™₯

  7. I think it is sensible of the young people. Just never wake up and walk around naked in your own house when you have young adults as children! πŸ™‚ You never know what happens.

  8. that is a tricky one. Yes they did the right thing, but surprising you was probably uncomfortable. well done on not screaming and lobbing them with the nearest heavy object πŸ™‚

Namaste. My soul honors your soul. I honor the place in you where the entire universe resides. I honor the light, love, truth, beauty & peace within you, because it is also within me. In sharing these things we are united, we are the same, we are one.

