Melancholia


paws

The Daily Prompt

We all feel down from time to time. How do you combat the blues?

What’s one tip you can share with others that always helps to lift your spirits?

I have never hidden the fact that I suffer from Recurrent Major Depression.  That is in fact the reason I started blogging.  Often when I talk about this people tend to tell me that it is normal to feel the blues now and then.  The thing is that there is a huge difference between feeling the blues and having a depressive episode.  Anyway, there are a few things that do help a little.
Here is a list  of the things I do to keep myself sane during these periods.
1.
  I write a whole lot.  Some of the writing I send to a friend to read, just selective stuff which I am keeping for the book, the rest of the writing I throw away.  Sending the writing to the friend helps because the friend has a sort of factual understanding which I rather prefer to sympathy.
2.
Sitting with my cat “His Royal Highness” on my lap is very soothing, especially with a cup of hot, sweet tea.
3.
Often with these episodes I sleep too little, but being able to fall asleep on the couch with the cat, a blanket and the Tv on, is really a blessing.
4.
Human touch.  Lots of hugs.  My littlest daughter gives those hugs out freely and they really help a lot.
These things I mention are comforting, but in reality the depressive episode only leaves when it does, it’s almost as though it has a mind of its own.

For: The Daily Prompt

47 thoughts on “Melancholia

  1. Pingback: How to be awesome | The Bohemian Rock Star's "Untitled Project"

  2. You have the most wonderful attitude! You enlist the comforting things like writing, having a cat on your lap and getting hugs from a child to help you through the bad times. It’s that matter of fact approach I so admire.

  3. I wish more people would recognize that Depression is not the same as the occasional “feeling the blues.” I am glad you have found ways to find “comfort” until the episodes are over. Consider yourself hugged from me ❤

  4. At least there are some touchstones you have to make its visits a bit more bearable.
    I’m a big fan of music, either to boost me out of it, or to give it a nice melancholy soundtrack.

  5. I so agree that there is a difference …feeling down …and feeling depressed… With all that has gone on with my life the past year…. many worried that I was going to that dark place of depression again… but I tried to explain that there was a difference to the sadness that I felt and ‘depression’…. I know the difference having been there… I know now is not particularly good for you… and hope you start to feel better soon. Diane

  6. I go through a lot of this too, and it is especially bad right now. It’s selfish to be glad I’m not the only one, but I’m grateful that there are others who understand and empathize. Reading your blog helps lift my spirits on the dark days and makes me smile on the bright ones. 🙂

  7. I know what you mean – unless you’ve experienced depression you really can’t grasp the difference between feeling low and bottoming out into the depths. I read a lot when I’m low or cook the most complicated thing in one of my recipe book as it means multiple steps and having to pay attention to what I’m doing – it really helps me at times.

  8. Pingback: I’m Feeling the Blues | A Blog for Laura Lee

  9. MUSIC is my savior. I’ve found a great Christian rock station and blast it. For some reason, singing praises to God always lifts my spirits. It also reminds me, with some songs, that others are soo much worse off than me, and that’s a lot when I’m at the bottom already. so crank up some good music, that isn’t full of melancholy, or harsh or angry, and let the music lift you up. ie… my newest favorite, is Oceans, by Hillsong United. try it out, just google it on Utube, and you will see what I mean. 🙂

  10. Pingback: Blues | I'm a Writer, Yes I Am

  11. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Singing the Blues | My Atheist Blog

  12. It is good that you have adopted a positive attitude to combat your depression. It works out well for you and you are comforted. Lots of hugs and love to you. 🙂

  13. Pingback: How Not To Suffer | Views Splash!

  14. Pingback: Daily Prompt – Blues | The Wandering Poet

  15. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Singing the Blues | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  16. People that doesn’t have this condition don’t know what we’re talking about. I played the song ‘Happy’ over and over yesterday and well, then I go out and take photo’s or play on my computer but don’t feel like talking. But yeah, know the feeling and we are blessed that we have our furries and loved ones to cheer us up when we need it. Hang in there hon. 😀 ♥ Big Hugs ♥

  17. Pingback: 10 Tips for Beating the Blues (+ an Amusing Picture) | lynnesartandsoul

  18. So sorry that you have to suffer these episodes of melancholia, but you seem to have worked out what will help to alleviate them and lift your spirits. I find that flowers always give me a boost. 🙂 Hugs to you.

  19. Pingback: NEVER ALONE | Hastywords

Namaste. My soul honors your soul. I honor the place in you where the entire universe resides. I honor the light, love, truth, beauty & peace within you, because it is also within me. In sharing these things we are united, we are the same, we are one.

