The House in Middelburg.

Oldhouse

The Daily Prompt:

What are the earliest memories of the place you lived in as a child? Describe your house. What did it look like? How did it smell? What did it sound like? Was it quiet like a library, or full of the noise of life? Tell us all about it, in as much detail as you can recall.

I lived in many houses in many different towns growing up, but there was one house in particular which I don’t think I’ll ever forget.  It was a very old house in a town called Middelburg.  The ceiling seemed super high to me and of course it had very old pressed ceilings.  The house was ancient.    The back yard had a huge Mulberry tree.  Anyway, I remember being very scared in that huge house, mainly because at night bats would fly around inside the house.  This is what I remember; the bats, it seems so unreal, maybe even a figment of my imagination, but somewhere there, bats would fly around at night.
At that house I also burnt very badly with boiling water.  I ran around that Mulberry tree so fast as my parents were trying to catch me to help me.  I just kept running, because I thought that I was in trouble and was going to get a hiding.  Eventually the father caught me, they poured ice water over me and took me to the hospital.  I stayed in the hospital for a while.
When I came out of hospital my body was bandaged up so much that I must have looked like the Michelin man.  Every second day, my mom would give us, my brother and I, a few cents so that we could go and buy some sweets at the corner shop.  Also, a very clear memory; an old couple who would always be standing at their gate, waiting for people to pass so that they could have a chat.  On my first walk to shop, full of bandages, the old couple had picked a rose, which they gave me when we walked passed them.  They were very sweet.
This whole picture of everything about that house is so clear.  There seemed to be a lot of darkness associate with that house.
*Hugs*

For: The Daily Prompt.

The picture of the house is not of the house I lived in, please see photo credit below.

photo credit: keeva999 via photopincc

40 thoughts on “The House in Middelburg.

  1. The fish pond in the back yard, I’d sit and watch the different fish swirl and flash. My poor mother was always terrified that I’d fall in. I was only 2yrs old but I remember the pond and the sun and mum always just a little bit away. Odd that I can’t remember anything else from the house but we moved from there before I was three so maybe that’s why.

  2. Pingback: My Childhood Home | A mom's blog

  3. i’m having odd moments in my life at the moment, and your story reminds me, we all have past experiences, some we put in the closet, some we try to forget, nice post, it opens my mind to stuff, bless you

  4. Pingback: Children Must Be Seen And Not Heard | Lisa's Kansa Muse

  5. Pingback: The rising of the Sap Nymph: an erotic poem | ALIEN AURA'S BlOG: IT'LL BLOW YOUR MIND!

  6. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Our House | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  7. Pingback: A Trip Down Memory Lane | Views Splash!

  8. Pingback: Our House: Slugs and Stairs | Fun with Depression

  9. Pingback: I freaking love this house | The Bohemian Rock Star's "Untitled Project"

  10. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Our House | Cancer Isn't Pink

  11. Pingback: Our House | viver para contar

  12. So, you were burning ”hot”’ from a young age then? 😉

    Glad that incident is just a faded memory, M.
    Like you, we moved around a fair bit – dad being in the military –
    One of my earliest memories is of I Lime Road, in a town called Ramsey, in the UK

    When we arrived to visit the builders hadn’t finished ( it was a brand new corner house) and I remember standing next to my dad when one of the builders blew brick dust off a board he was holding and it went into my eyes.
    I was 7 years old.

  13. Pingback: The Camino Plan | There’s No Place That’s Home

  14. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Home | The Wandering Poet

  15. Pingback: Stand in the Place Where You Live | 365 Days of Thank You

  16. Pingback: Empty space? | Words 'n Pics...

  17. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Our House | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

Namaste. My soul honors your soul. I honor the place in you where the entire universe resides. I honor the light, love, truth, beauty & peace within you, because it is also within me. In sharing these things we are united, we are the same, we are one.

