Nightmares

nightmares

The Daily Prompt:

What is the best dream you’ve ever had? Recount it for us in all its ethereal glory. 
In reply:
I think the very worst dreams I had were when I was a teenager.  Some of them were most harrowing.   I found that no one understood the total exhaustion these dreams brought on.  One of the dreams or experience involved a very powerful force which I can only describe as an invisible magnet which was trying to pull my soul from my body.  I remember fighting this thing off with all my might in those dreams.  In the dream, I found that the only thing that would end the dream was a prayer…
The other recurring dream that I used to have is rather a common one I believe; it is the one where I am under water and swimming to the top, seeing the light through the water, but battling to get there.  Thankfully I have not had either of these dreams for quite sometime now, but I must say that they were quite terrifying.
*Hugs*

For: The Daily Prompt

photo credit: seyed mostafa zamani via photopin cc

48 thoughts on “Nightmares

  1. Pingback: Until then… | Daily Prompt: Sweet Dreams | Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

  2. Pingback: Speed of Light | THE MARRIED MAN WHO LOVES HIS X

  3. Like you I had more ‘nightmares’ at least remembered ones than good ones.. many where I was in harms way in ever kind of way..from train wreck to plane crash to being pursued by others…but the most terrifying was when I felt the presence of ‘pure evil’ and even after awaking felt it and the only way it left was to read my Bible and like you ‘pray’…. fortunately that was a long time ago and haven’t had really bad ones for quite awhile… Diane

  4. I understand this type of dream too. I too went through a year with similar dreams I was always driving and the bridge would break or the road would end sending me down into water. I was always able to break the window and head for the surface of the water. specifics would change slightly but the end was always the same. Thankfully things in my life have settle and these dreams have disappeared! My heart goes out to those who are experiencing this type of confusion and discontent.
    With respect, hope, joy and love, Carmela

  5. Pingback: “I need to climb the cherry tree to get to the marshmallows” | jigokucho

  6. Soo interesting! My two worst dreams were “water dreams” – about people drowning and me being helpless to help (both based on a true story I heard). I must blog about these now. Thanks *hugs*.

  7. Pingback: Sweet Dreams | Knowledge Addiction

  8. Praying for God’s protection and love to surround you. I enjoy reading C S Lewis’ books particularly “Mere Christianity”. Have you read that one? Love and prayers. Iris

  9. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Sweet Dreams (Are Made Of This) | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  10. Pingback: Raging Inferno | Views Splash!

  11. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Sweet Dreams – Mark II, Mod VI | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice

  12. Pingback: Dreams and Exams | A mom's blog

  13. Pingback: Their Nightmares And Mine | So Not Simple

  14. Pingback: No Idris Elba, I will not marry you! | Altared Egos

  15. Pingback: Sweet Dreams (It’s Morphin’ Time!) | Lead us from the Unreal to the Real

  16. Pingback: Sweet Dreams from Angel Grove | Lead us from the Unreal to the Real

  17. Pingback: DREAMS OF ARMAGEDDON | hastywords

  18. Pingback: DREAM ASYLUM ANALYSIS | hastywords

  19. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Sweet Dreams (Are Made of This) | The Wandering Poet

  20. Pingback: El Dreamo | Edward Hotspur

  21. Pingback: I dreamed a dream of time … wait, it was something … hold on. | The Bohemian Rock Star's "Untitled Project"

  22. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Sweet Dreams (Are Made of This) | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  23. I am so glad they are old nightmares Michelle, not that it could have been nice having them. I know the feeling. Luckily we outgrow them and become stronger. Love the image and your comment message. Lovely! 😀
    ~Big Hugs~

  24. Pingback: Sweet Dreams | Alexia Jones

Namaste. My soul honors your soul. I honor the place in you where the entire universe resides. I honor the light, love, truth, beauty & peace within you, because it is also within me. In sharing these things we are united, we are the same, we are one.

