Ingredient?

Chef

Daily prompt: What’s the one item in your kitchen you can’t possibly cook without? A spice, your grandma’s measuring cup, instant ramen — what’s your magic ingredient, and why?

I’m not what one would call a wonderful cook.  I make my old trusted recipes.  Just the normal stuff; Mac & Cheese, Lasagna, Cottage pie, Roasts and so on. Nothing that I was taught to do.  I always use the easiest most basic recipe books and then add ingredients according to the taste.
I like to bake though, but that’s not the same as cooking.  I bake bread.
The one item that I do love, that no one else in my family like, is Balsamic Vinegar.   I love it over salads.  My favourite indulgence is chopped up cucumber and cherry tomatoes drenched in Balsamic. That’s my thing 🙂

photo credit: alsis35 (now at ipernity) via photopin cc

61 thoughts on “Ingredient?

  1. I am also a fan of balsamic- mixed with maple syrup poured over beets and then roasted- amazing. I like the white balsamic too in recipes where I don’t want the color showing.Love the attached vintage ad!

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Ingredients | The Wandering Poet

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Ingredients | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Ingredients | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Ingredients | A Day In The Life

  6. Pingback: MORNING IN THE KITCHEN | SERENDIPITY

  7. Salads … great with balsamic vinegar and olive oil! All very nutritious and healthy. Your freshly baked bread would also go well with balsamic and olive oil as a dip. Can smell your bread from the oven! Mmmm!!!

  8. Pingback: Bialetti! Gotta’ have it/Daily Prompt | I'm a Writer, Yes I Am

  9. Pingback: What’s the big deal about Sriracha? | Rob's Surf Report

  10. Pingback: Daily Prompt : INGREDIENT | Thoughtless Prattler

  11. I love the old image you used. I can do great biscuits, but not cakes. I over mix the cake mixture so that it ends up flat. I am not a great cook. Just cook meat and then add a salad. I also love balsamic vinegar too. 😀

  12. Pingback: My Hispanic Kitchen While Traveling the Road: Sazón and Café con Leche (Coffee with milk) « psychologistmimi

  13. Mmmmm. Home baked breads. We love it! It is said that the road to a man’s heart passes from his stomach. In the new century I guess it is also true for the women. My heart would beat faster to the delicous smell coming from the kitchen.
    Love and hugs
    Servant Z & Yelloz

  14. Pingback: Made With Love, Always | The Shotgun Girls

  15. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Ingredients | SIM | ANTICS

  16. Pingback: Hot Damn! | Edward Hotspur

  17. Pingback: A good knife is everything | "The Ish," presented by the Bohemian Rock Star

  18. Oh yes! Love cucumbers and those little tomatoes with vinegar and don’t forget the avocado. 😀 I love cooking and baking but in summer I stick to the cool foodies like salads and cold meats. Great post and share Michelle. 😀 *hugs*

  19. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Ingredients | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  20. Pingback: Daily prompt: ingredients | ferwam

  21. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Ingredients | Wordz on a Page

  22. Pingback: You say cardamon. I say cardamom. | Love.Books.Coffee.

Namaste. My soul honors your soul. I honor the place in you where the entire universe resides. I honor the light, love, truth, beauty & peace within you, because it is also within me. In sharing these things we are united, we are the same, we are one.

