Quirks, don’t smirk.

doodlesDaily prompt: Which quirky habit annoys you the most, and what quirky habit do you love — in yourself, or others.

Having had OCD for many, many years now I find it difficult to determine which of my habits are related to the OCD and which are just merely habits.  I suppose those that cause me anguish, which have to be done again and gain until it is right are probably related to the OCD.  The other more trivial habits I assume then are just merely habits.
For me though, the line is thin.  I would say the habit/compulsion that I absolutely abhor the most is showering.  It is not the actual showering that I dislike so much, but the mind control and how I have to concentrate so early in the morning.  If I do not tell myself that I will only be in the shower for not more than 10 minutes, and If I don’t plan that I will first wash my hair etc, then I will get stuck in the shower, and I will be scrubbing my skin, because somehow in the back of my mind I sometimes just cannot get clean enough and will end up not being able to get myself out of there. I will understand if you think this is really silly, if you think it’s totally ridiculous, well then I don’t really care to explain.
My funniest quirk which I like is doodling.  It is impossible for me to talk on the phone or just be idle without doodling.  I don’t think you will find a diary or notebook which I own that does not have doodles on them 🙂 Above are some random doodles lying on my desk.
*hugs*

For: Daily Prompt

55 thoughts on “Quirks, don’t smirk.

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Quirk of Habit | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  2. This is creepy as it sounds a lot like me – I’m not sure if I have very mild OCD but I also have routines/habits. Getting the order of things correct in the shower is one of them. If I go out of order I stand there confused.
    Also with the doodling – once I’ve finished a phone call there will be a work of art I don’t even remember drawing sitting there in front of me!

  3. Pingback: Procrastination and Coffee/Daily Prompt | I'm a Writer, Yes I Am

  4. Pingback: CYNICAL ECCENTRICITY: THEY WILL THANK US SOMEDAY | SERENDIPITY

  5. Pingback: Children’s Oddities | A mom's blog

  6. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Quirk of Habit | Incidents of a Dysfunctional Spraffer

  7. Pingback: Cultivating Eccentricity | alienorajt

  8. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Quirk of Habit | A Room of One's Own

  9. Pingback: Rob's Surf Report

  10. Pingback: [M.M.X.I.V. 12] Crosswalks | Never A Worry

  11. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Quirk of Habit | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  12. Pingback: A Penny For Your Thoughts | The Jittery Goat

  13. I have a friend who did some like 10 thousand doodles while talking on the phone, she presented to a publisher and now she has a book used for some type of psychological studies. How fun is that? I can see yours can become tile designs.

  14. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Quirk Of Habit | The Wandering Poet

  15. So glad I am not the only one Michelle. I think that is why I prefer my bubblebath. 😆
    That is one stunning shot Michelle. Your doodles are just awesome and just like Raewyn I would love to see more! Great post and thanks for sharing hon. 😀 *big hugs*

  16. I too am a doodler when on the phone and in meetings. Another habit I’ve found is when I’m on the phone at work I instinctively go onto the internet and randomly view the news!

  17. Pingback: Quirky | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

  18. Doodling is good for you! And yours are beautiful as others have said.
    You are not alone in the shower thing…if I don’t do things in the right order I don’t remember if I washed my hair or not…

  19. Pingback: Weekly Prompt #1: Quirk of Habit | Off the Footy Pitch

  20. Pingback: NaPoWriMo – Poem / Poetry – “Modern Ragnarok” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Namaste. My soul honors your soul. I honor the place in you where the entire universe resides. I honor the light, love, truth, beauty & peace within you, because it is also within me. In sharing these things we are united, we are the same, we are one.

