Should I change?

rosenano

For NaBloPoMo. 
If you could change one thing about yourself, what would it be?
I have tried to accept myself as I am, but here is one thing that I have tried to change about myself, something I had always wished to change,  but trying to change something which is so much a part of one’s personality is self-destructive.
What I would like to have changed was to be less meek.  People have often commented on the fact that I am too soft, but they read me wrong.  Those who have a softer nature are by no means not strong.  I have a certain amount of strength which has grown over the years.  I can stand up for myself, and I can especially stand up for my children, and those near and dear to me.
I have decided that softness in itself contains raw strength.  So, after all these years of battling with my meekness, that others seem to see as a failure in me, I see it as strength.
I now honour that in myself, and I bask in the wonderful feeling of being kind.
*hugs*
38 thoughts on “Should I change?

  1. “Da meek Shall Inherit Da Earth” i was once told by more than one,, so be it,,, an well change is inevitable, it is how we choose to change that makes all the difference to our blessed souls. nNamaste’ 2 U frum Q 🙂

  2. There is absolutely nothing wrong with being meek. To the contrary, I wish more people were meek. What we should seek to change is the things about ourselves that are destructive not the things that are good. 😉

  3. It is said in the Bible that ‘The meek shall inherit the earth’… so I see that as a very positive quality… not in any way negative….. It is part of the ‘YOU’ that most people are attracted to….the people who matter……
    Diane

  4. Water is soft, but created the Grand Canyon and can sink ships. There is much strength in gentleness and kindness, I’m glad that you are changing the opinion and view of yourself to one that is more positive. It is often a necessary step on the path of others changing their opinion and view of someone.

  5. I don’t think I’d change anything huge because I’ve spent my whole life tweaking aspects – because a lot of things don’t come easily, socially particularly, every encounter demands some kind of tweak – I’m doomed to be forever in a state of fluxing tweak :O

    Lovely thoughts…

    • Thanks, and I know about the tweaking. I have been doing that so much myself – but I don’t want to tweak anymore, I am what I am now. On the other hand, I’d rather be tweaking than twerking though 😉
      *hugs*

  6. Meekness is surely a virtue, Michelle, is it not? Sometimes, it is mistaken for timidity. A patient and gentle nature is indeed one of the Biblical fruits of the Spirit. Keep up that lovely spirit!

Namaste. My soul honors your soul. I honor the place in you where the entire universe resides. I honor the light, love, truth, beauty & peace within you, because it is also within me. In sharing these things we are united, we are the same, we are one.

