Harshest

DNA

Tell us about the harshest, most difficult to hear — but accurate — criticism you’e ever gotten. Does it still apply?

Words can do so much harm but, I think it all depends on how much of those words we let sink in under our skins.  I’m sure you will agree with me though that one has to be pretty thick skinned not to feel the sting in the words directed at oneself.   There were some really harsh things said to me about myself growing up, but I don’t really feel like repeating them now.  The thing is that when you brainwash a child about their “badness,” there is some of it that will not only sting the skin, but those words will get right under the skin and start festering.
Once those festering words start sinking into your soul, and when settled there, they are really difficult to flush out.  I don’t know of anyone on this earth who can reverse painful words once they have been said.
But maybe, just take a minute to think of who the person or people are who spew these awful words.  Surely festering words originate from a very sickly soul. Don’t let them affect you. – This is rich coming from myself as I am today, blinking back a few tears, and pushing away waves of a really upset feeling – all from words uttered…A never ending spiral, it seems.
“A word is dead when it’s been said, some say. I say it just begins to live that day.”
Emily Dickinson
*hugs*

 

36 thoughts on “Harshest

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Sad But True | The Story of a Guy

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Sad but True | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  3. oh and how, sweety! I’ve been screamed at and put down at different jobs many times by very unprofessional people, but the day my own brother said something like “I was useless, and going nowhere” still hurts to this day. Funny but I was just talking about this to my friend the other day, and realized I had still not fully forgiven him. I haven’t talked to him for 2 years now, and even tho I have 5 other bro’s to choose from, he was always one of my closest…. so maybe it’s time, eh? twice in one week, tells me I’m being told my God to get my shit together! lol guess it’s time to reach out again! (the jerk) lol have a lovely day, huggybear! NEVER THINK that what you write about is useless….even this simple post has/will help to make my life better… I hope! 🙂

  4. Pingback: You’re like a cat – you only call when you want something | Feel & Rebuild Your Self Confidence

  5. Pingback: Life is Harsh | Kansa Muse

  6. Pingback: MY NARCISSISM | hastywords

  7. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Sad But True | Processing the life

  8. Pingback: From the mouths of babes | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

  9. Pingback: Regarding Those Friends Who See Through You to Something Better: | Rob's Surf Report

  10. Words can truly do so much harm but it’s like you say Michelle – we are the ones that have to decide if we are going to believe it. It was the same with me as a child but as you grow up you realise you can’t be all that bad. No one is perfect but as a child you do want to feel special and loved and if a parent can give you that, those hurtful words and actions can stay there for years until you decide to get rid of it. Sometimes words can cut deeper than a knife and the wounds takes a long time to heal. Sickly souls are going to be there forever in our lives and I guess they are there to teach us lessons in forgiveness and growing thick skins.

    Lovely post hon and thanks for sharing. 😀 *big hugs*

  11. Pingback: Harsh |

  12. i can fully understand the power of words. I have had quite a few nasty things said to me – and i remember every person who said them, where we were, how old I was and the situation. They are imprinted – tattooed in my brain and on my heart.

  13. Pingback: Daily Prompt – Harsh – Poem / Poetry – “The Survey” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Namaste. My soul honors your soul. I honor the place in you where the entire universe resides. I honor the light, love, truth, beauty & peace within you, because it is also within me. In sharing these things we are united, we are the same, we are one.

