Maybe I should have kissed him.

geraniums
In my bedroom I have a large sliding door which I keep open a little on really hot nights, but on the not so hot nights I leave it open just big enough for HRH (my cat) to go in and out as he pleases.  About two nights ago, I had to get up in the middle of the night for the bathroom.  The way to the bathroom is through short passage/cupboard area.  I don’t usually put lights on, but rather just navigate my way there in the dark.
On this night though, on my return from the bathroom I noticed my cat crouching over what looked like dark circle on the floor.  I though that it must be a large moth.  I switched the light on to see exactly what it was.  Now, let me tell you this, I am generally afraid of rodents and also reptiles, but certain types of amphibians really give me chills down my spine.  I don’t know why, but they do.  I will hasten to add though that I would never willingly harm any living creature, amphibian or not.  So, anyway, by this time you must realise that I had a huge frog in the passage/closet area; and I also had to save him from my cat.
I tried to get hold of this frog without touching him, but he just kept hopping all over the place, with me hopping after him,  Eventually, he landed in my slipper which was on the floor.  So quick as a flash the slipper was retrieved and the frog was set free near the little pond at the bottom of the garden.
If I lived in a land of fairy-tales and make-believe I suppose I might have considered puckering up and giving him a kiss, but even if he turned into a handsome prince…he would more than likely end up having muddy feet anyway.
*hugs*
34 thoughts on “Maybe I should have kissed him.

  1. Love those beautiful Malva’s Michelle. 😀
    Here the frogs knows to stay outside and although I do pick them up without a problem, I don’t think I would ever kiss one, fairy tale or not. heheheheh
    Great post hon. *big hugs*

  2. Frogs and lizards….no problemo. But we’ve had the first big summer storm in Joeys and I am just
    waiting for that all too familiar scratching sound from behind my desk/filing cabinet/ office door signaling the arrival of the annual Parktown Flipping Prawn invasion. Eeeeek! I can’t stand them.

  3. Love this, such a good story Michelle. Glad the critter got away from his impending doom via HRH. You might have a bad taste after kissing him though. 🙂

  4. what an awesome post! it reminds me of a couple of weeks ago when I had the wolf spider on my bathroom floor. I always navigated through the dark also, but no longer. I was lucky or God was watching over me because I learned that they have a deadly bite, so lights on from now on when walking through dark hallways!

Namaste. My soul honors your soul. I honor the place in you where the entire universe resides. I honor the light, love, truth, beauty & peace within you, because it is also within me. In sharing these things we are united, we are the same, we are one.

