Nervous

photochallengefresh
Tell us about the blog post you were most nervous to publish — and what it was like to set it free.
In all honesty I am often nervous when I post my “on the couch” posts.  I do those when I am a bit of a mess emotionally/mentally; whatever people want to call it.  Usually, before I write posts such as these I will first try to talk to those I know, in a light-hearted way, just to get whatever my “black dog” thoughts are out of the my mind.  It is just to feel the warmth and understanding of another human, but I’ll tell you something else – I really am a poor judge of character.  People are not always receptive and I don’t blame them as they have their own burdens, and don’t want to be listening to anymore than they need to.
Also, I often find that I seem to be facing people whom I could quite comfortably compare to brick walls.  Why? Well because they are just that.  Trying to make conversation, or talking to some people, or even just emailing them is just like standing five centimeters away from a  deaf brick wall…I don’t know, maybe I am just too much – so now, my resolve is just to stop.  I am no longer trying to befriend, be friendly, not sending mails.  I am just stopping.
This is when I do the “on the couch posts.”  I do get nervous.  I have noticed that at times I lose readers because of those posts, but that just proves the way of humanity in some cases, and yet that does not bother me as much as the baring of my soul, that is what bothers me, but still, I do it…
*hugs*
68 thoughts on “Nervous

  1. I like the ‘on the couch’ thing – I have the duvet, but it’s the same thing. You’re braver then me. I get typing block when it comes to too much close reflection. It’s just feels like a whole lot of blah and noise.
    *hugs*

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Release Me | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  3. I don’t think that you will lose readers because of any particular posting, I think it is more likely that the updates were not delivered, which happens all the time on my Space, so for example one posting could seem popular and another one not so if you see what I mean?

    To be honest I never bother what anyone will think of a posting I add, the main reason being that everyone’s tastes are so varied, and whatever I add is bound to upset someone somewhere, but hey it’s my Space and I will post whatever I choose.

    Nervousness is not something I experience so I am not belittling anyone that feels apprehensive towards adding a posting, like I said, everyone is different. In my own opinion we should just add whatever we like, not worry about the content and just go with the flow of things. Easy for me to say I know but just add what is comfortable, and you can turn off the comments for individual postings if you wanted, which sort of relaxes the nervous thoughts on what a reader might add as a comment, after all you are adding a personal view and sometimes we do not require feedback on such posts. Have a lovely rest of day and weekend Michelle 🙂 😉

    Oh and sorry for waffling…

    Andro xxxx

      • When adding personal thoughts, if you feel happy about what you have written then everything is alright, and if nervous before posting then perhaps a review and edit would help the anxiety levels. You can add whatever you like on your own Space and control the feedback also, so you never have to feel vulnerable before or after you have posted something 🙂

        Have a lovely Sunday Michelle 🙂

        Andro xxxx

  4. I’ve noticed that sometimes it’s the posts I hesitate the most to write that resonate the most with other people. Probably because those are the posts where I am allowing myself to be most vulnerable… I think that’s often why there may end up with fewer comments but deeper ones. I think you are brave when you share your struggles and I know hearing your experiences definitely helps me face my own.

  5. I am a very lone wolfish person. I rarely post anything of my feelings. Most of my poems about anything are just made up rhymes. But of course anything one writes is all about themselves. I have not revealed my blog to any of my off line friends. That would really make me nervous. lol What they don’t know can’t hurt me.

    I think your honest writing must give a lot of readers courage to write about themselves.

  6. Pingback: The sound of release | Mirrorgirl

  7. Well, Michelle, when you say that you feel vulnerable, you are actually very honest about it. It makes you feel good to share your thoughts and you get comments from people who are encouraging and understanding. Some people may have a different way of thinking so it doesn’t matter if they want to think it their way. Whatever way works and is helpful for you that would be therapeutic. If you enjoy music, that is also a good way of relaxing. Take care and keep positive!

  8. i feel very much the same way. I feel nervous about almost everything I write – in particular my poetry. I write about things are very personal. I try to write other things and do, but it seems most of what i ‘feel’ like writing is the deep ‘stuff’. i wonder sometimes is i am perceived as self-deprecating or just down, down, down – but the thing is, this is what i feel like writing.

    • I think writing what we feel helps release those feelings…and that is the most important. How we are perceived for writing about feelings will vary from one to the other. Just keep writing…
      *big hug*

  9. Pingback: The Cathartic Power of Writing and Blogging | Rob's Surf Report

  10. Pingback: When To Safely Hit “Publish” And When To Hold Back! | The Political and Social Chaos Blog

  11. Pingback: Bringing A Long Held Goal to Light | mycookinglifebypatty

  12. Pingback: “I say release me…” | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

  13. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Release Me (Shyness) | DeafGuy Blog

  14. I don’t think the people who have not been receptive or compassionate when you have shared some real feelings … were ever friends of any kind… but sometimes you don’t find that out until such a time as you did. … I don’t think it’s that you don’t know a person’s character .. I think instead that you are just very trusting that what you see is what you get… People aren’t often forthcoming when we first meet them… Please don’t ever ‘not’ share if you really need to..as I believe most of those who really know you even through blogging… would support you in a heart beat. I have had such wonderful support! … Diane

  15. Lovely post hon and I feel you. I love your ‘on the couch’ posts because most of the times it’s exactly how I feel as well but I can’t describe or even share it with everyone as well as you do. I have too many trust issues with people as well and as you know, not everyone is as kind or caring as they pretend to be. Some of them just wait for the day when they can have a ‘go’ at you or throw things back in your face. These are the kind that just visit blogs to feel good because of someone else’s pain or discomfort or because they think they are better than others. I think we can all do without them for sure, so don’t worry if you lose any of them. They are not worth it. 😀 *hugs*

  16. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Release Me | My Atheist Blog

  17. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Release Me ROLLING IN THE DEEP 1-4 | Phoenix Flights

  18. Hi Hope, your blog is the one place where you can be real and not worry about upsetting people and those who don’t like what you post don’t need to visit again and no loss to you. In real life we have to pussyfoot around people and moderate what we say to avoid the inevitable fall out when someone takes offence. Just carry on blogging what’s on your heart and mind – this is a safe place.

  19. I never really get nervous about my posts although sometimes I go back and edit them after a reread. Weed out some of the more on-the edge paragraphs, and you know what are the controversial topics I write about, I’m sure. 😉

  20. I love how real you have been, Michelle. I always feel like I am dealing with an honest person when I read your blog. Your posts have never come across to me like you were really nervous. I hope you don’t mind me posting my other blog’s address in a different reply here. I have been writing my memoirs for sometime now, but I didn’t want to connect it to my other blog since people I KNOW IN MY EVERYDAY LIFE could read it, which is something I’m not ready for! Big hugs to you, my friend!

  21. Pingback: Thank you everyone for the love and support | Processing the life

  22. I am not too nervous about most of my posts because I don’t tell things that are painfully personal. I worry that some things I say might not be accurate because they go out on LinkedIn, and I have a large group of professionals on that media contact, and I worry that they won’t respect my silliness! I also worry about things like mistakes. I try to catch them, but I miss them, and again it’s the desire to be professional on a purely fun blog.

Namaste. My soul honors your soul. I honor the place in you where the entire universe resides. I honor the light, love, truth, beauty & peace within you, because it is also within me. In sharing these things we are united, we are the same, we are one.

