“Manners maketh man”

whiteflower
Are you comfortable in front of people, or does the idea of public speaking make you want to hide in the bathroom? Why?

I have had my share of having to do a little public speaking in my younger years.  At first my nerves couldn’t handle it, and I found that standing in front of all those people even made my face start twitching with nervousness, but what I did find though was that when I had to speak about something close to my heart, all of the self-consciousness and nervousness just disappeared and I could speak with conviction.

If anyone were to ask me to do a speech right here on the spot it would be about the following:

“Manners maketh man”  quotation by William of Wykeham,

or should I say “Manners maketh compassionate human beings”

Last night I took my elderly mom with me to a function.  We arrived a little early and had to wait in a very pleasant outside area.  There in that area were benches placed all over, facing flower beds and under trees.  There were quite a few people who had also arrived early and had taken all the benches.  I personally don’t care about that because I will go and sit on the grass or on a step or something, but if I happened to be on one of the benches and an elderly lady or man arrived, I would most certainly get up and offer that person my seat.

Needless to say, there were people “plopped” (as if they were big sloppy pieces of clay that just fell from the heavens and suddenly “plob” they landed on the bench in a most ungainly position) on the benches, young people, some middle-aged people and not one of them thought to get up and let my elderly mother sit down.

At first I found it disgusting of them to have such bad manners.  Why doesn’t anyone care about anyone else anymore.  My children most certainly know to get up an offer their seat to someone who might need it more than they do.  Don’t people have manners anymore or is it that they just don’t care?  Where has humans humanity gone?

*hugs*

46 thoughts on ““Manners maketh man”

  1. That’s a totally disgusting display of selfishness and ignorance. I was pleasantly surprised in England when travelling on the tube, to see young people stand up for the elderly, or pregnant women. Hubby was quite put out when a young woman offered to give up her seat for him. He’s extremely fit, and I think it made him feel old, especially as she didn’t offer it to me. 😀

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Naked with Black Socks | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  3. I so agree with you… such manners taught us years ago just don’t seem to be taught to the younger generation today, well certainly not to all of them… unfortunately I would have gone up to one of them and asked them to allow my Mother to sit… and just let someone complain…

  4. Pingback: Hitting the Switch | Cheri Speak

  5. Whatever happened to common courtesy.?
    It would have seemed like anathema to me as a youngster (and still does now at the ripe old age of 29 and a bit) not to give up my seat, on a bus, train, or function where there was no reservation in place.
    I once got on a bus as a kid behind a young pregnant woman and the first bloke to rise was an Old Codger (and I mean old) in front of plenty of younger blokes.
    Some of them had the decency to look embarrassed and one offered his own seat to the elderly chap – which he took with a smile and a thank you.

  6. I did notice quite a difference in manners when I first came over to the USA from England. It seemed that good manners were more of an accepted thing back home and I was appalled by the lack of ‘thank you’s over here. But that was 40 years ago. Maybe things have evened out a bit more by now.

  7. I completely agree ! I taught my children. Maybe you will raise some consciousness here. In this society many just were never taught. Me? I would have quietly asked one of those younger kids to get the ^&%$#^#^&@ up and let me mum sit down. ( not in so many words but politely )

  8. Pingback: Am I really comfortable in front of people? | Rob's Surf Report

  9. Pingback: Black Socks Down | Edward Hotspur

  10. Agreed on the lack of manners in society, oh, and humanity. These topics have been given ‘air-space’ on a few occasions on my own blog. They are two topics I don’t tire in stating, are severely lacking from today’s superficial, self serving world! There, another mini rant over and done with! Bex

  11. I agree with Sylvia. That is disgusting Michelle and just like bulldog I would have gone up to one of them and asked them to stand up. I know you would have done the same but it seems your mom have much better manners than all of them do and she raised a beautiful daughter and taught her those manners as well. I say just because things are changing like our new-age technology and all that stuff, that people shouldn’t have to forget their manners. Here where we live we have the same problem. Most of them think their ‘money’ and ‘status’ gives them the right to forget that they ever had manners.

  12. Pingback: Daily Prompt – Naked with Black Socks | Joe's Musings

  13. Your thoughts on manners are impeccable and someone should have offered their seat to your mother, it is a disgrace that nobody did, I know that I would most certainly have offered mine but then I have always been brought up that way.

    It doesn’t always go in my favour though as I remember some years ago opening a door for a young woman and her child and she was incredibly hostile. I guess that she thought I was being rude for offering, it is a funny world these days Michelle but chivalry and gentlemanly manners mean a lot and this is something that others need to follow.

    Have a lovely weekend Michelle and I
    send my good wished to your mom too 🙂

    Andro xxxx

      • I suppose it is the modern way, old fashioned manners seem to be lost on many of our younger peeps these days 😦 Wow that makes me sound ancient 😦 lol

        But after saying that there are still some younger peeps that have good manners and that is how it should be 🙂

        Enjoy your evening Michelle 🙂

        Andro xxxx

  14. I think you’re right that many people now days show a lack of consideration for others… but do take heart because I personally have been shown kindness often … I walk with a cane because of the M.S. and have been offered seats and even ‘jumping the queue in a line at the airport. There are other times that it doesn’t matter …but at least there are ‘some’. …Diane

Namaste. My soul honors your soul. I honor the place in you where the entire universe resides. I honor the light, love, truth, beauty & peace within you, because it is also within me. In sharing these things we are united, we are the same, we are one.

