What’s in a name?

Disney1

Do you know the meaning of your name, and why your parents chose it? Do you think it suits you? What about your children’s names?

Michelle
In Hebrew, the name Michelle means “Close to God” according to this site: http://www.meaning-of-names.com/.  I double checked because my mom gave me the same meaning.  I am happy with my name.  If I had the opportunity to name myself I would probably have the same name.  As I explained before, my father wanted to name me after my very wealthy aunt, but it all backfired on him.  So there you have it.
*hugs*
60 thoughts on “What’s in a name?

  1. A beautiful name for a beautiful and special person and it suits you Michelle. Your mom chose well. 🙂
    Great shot. Where is this gorgeous garden?
    *big hugs*

  2. Arkenaten is a variant of Akhenaten and I can’t remember what it means. Too long wrapped up in bandages and living in a coffin I suspect. But my original name was Amenhotep IV and I guess I was just named after my dad.
    I changed it because every time someone called out ,”Amen!” I felt the urge to pray.
    Eventually, I made up a religion, built my own city and lived with the wife and kids in the desert.
    It’s exhausting just thinking about it.

    Nice flowers by the way. 😉

  3. Blessings,

    I love this post. I remember when I first began learning about my name. Not that I was looking, it was like God was revealing it to me a little bit at a time. My name is Michael and when I found out the things I did, it was pretty scary. Thanks for sharing, if you have any advice I would love to hear it. God bless you.

  4. Pingback: The Naming Game | A mom's blog

  5. Pingback: What’s in a Name? | The Silver Leaf Journal

  6. Pingback: What’s in a name? | Motherhood and Beyond

  7. Pingback: What’s my name all about? | Hreodbeorht's Surf Report

  8. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Name That … You! | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  9. Pingback: “That which we call a ROSE by another other name would smell as sweet.” | Enchanted Seashells…Confessions of a Tugboat Captain's Wife

  10. Pingback: Name That Loon | Cheri Speak

  11. Pingback: What if I was a girl? By the way, I’m not! | Okay, what if ?

  12. I love the name Michelle. It was the name I had picked out for a girl name in both of my pregnancies should I have a girl. But for me, it was boys both times! I do love the name though!!

  13. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Name that… You! | Alastair's Blog

  14. Pingback: Breaking a sweat around the room | Escaping a Daydream

  15. Pingback: The illegal name | Life is great

  16. Pingback: Have You Seen Molly? | Molly Greye

  17. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Name that… You! | My Atheist Blog

  18. Nice name..Michelle, love it.
    Randall…English, derived from Randolph, meaning Wolf’s shield.
    But I love my initials…REM, but I doubt my mom knew who they were when I was born.Hugs.

  19. Pingback: WORDPRESS FAMILY AWARD! | Patsy's Creative Corner

  20. Pingback: My Identity | Sunshine Factor

  21. Pingback: Daily Prompt – Name that . . .you! | Joe's Musings

Namaste. My soul honors your soul. I honor the place in you where the entire universe resides. I honor the light, love, truth, beauty & peace within you, because it is also within me. In sharing these things we are united, we are the same, we are one.

