The reward would be an award in itself.

geraniums

You are receiving an award –- either one that already exists, or a new one created just for you. What would the award be, why are you being honored, and what would you say in your acceptance speech?

Now there is a question and a half.  I have never received any sort of award in real life before.   If I really think about it, there isn’t anything I could be or should be awarded for at this stage of my life.  I’m not really deserving of anything as I have not done anything spectacular.

Maybe, when I’ve finished the book I am writing, I will give myself a pat on the back for managing to work through everything I have on my mind and for managing to translate these thoughts into writing.  Of course, the ultimate satisfaction for me would be that the contents of the book would be uplifting and inspirational.  It should be helpful towards breaking through all the perceptions some of us have of ourselves, due to the negative brainwashing of others when we were at our most impressionable.  The book should be instrumental in helping those who have been through any sort of abusive traumas.  If I could achieve that with this writing, the achievement would be an award in itself- even though the book is fictional, it is in fact the truth in fiction.

It is turning out to be quite a daunting task though as there don’t seem to be enough hours in the day and also because of all the writing, the editing, the rewriting…but I know I will win in the end.

*hugs*

35 thoughts on “The reward would be an award in itself.

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: I’d Like to Thank My Cats | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  2. Pingback: Motherhood Award | A mom's blog

  3. Pingback: Best in Show: A Mommy Award | jennifermarshcurtis

  4. I think even preparing to write a book…deserves an award… I once thought I would do so…but when it came down to it I knew there was no way it would be possible… I hope it’s all that you want it to be… Diane

  5. In my view, we all deserve an award for just living as best we can – because that, in itself, takes more courage than you can imagine!
    So, give yourself a pat on the back Esperanza, book or no book – you’ve made it this far, you can make it all the way!

  6. I once heard that writer Graham Greene wrote 500 words per day. That was the limit he set and he wrote no more and no less.
    How much of an urban legend this is I have no idea.
    However, writing is a discipline and if you can manage a blog you you manage a book.
    As it is based on real stuff a notebook might be useful?
    Keep at it, it is well worth the effort and the satisfaction of typing that final full stop is a great feeling!
    Except there is the the next one to write… 🙂

  7. Pingback: I’d Sacrifice My Gut For You | Molly Greye

  8. I can so relate to you right now!! About a week ago I started trying to write my autobiography which will be short, but I also have things I want to share with others that I hope will encourage them. Good luck with your endeavor! I hate editing! :-/

  9. Pingback: Daily Prompt:I’d like to Thank My Cats | Motherhood and Beyond

  10. Pingback: Am I really going to answer today? | Rob's Surf Report

  11. Pingback: Daily Prompt: I’d Like to Thank… | My Atheist Blog

  12. I was married to a very succesful man. I stayed at home with my children for the first 15 years of their lives, after wich I started working. I stopped working when my husband retired. I once said to my youngest sisteer, who is also a succesful magistrate, that I didn’t really do something with my life to which she replied that having a wonderful marriage, a very succesful husband and three succesful children does not sound like not having a succesful life. If you take time, to think about it like that, you realise the part you played in other peoples lives does amount to quite a lot of seccess in your own right, dont you think. So if you get a bit down because of the book that is’nt going as fast as you’d like, think of everything that you have accomplished up to now. Do not forget what you contributed to you childrens lives, and give yourself a pat on the back and switch on the computer and write. O yes I love the editing of books and thesises. Feel quite important if I find something that I can correct, hehe.

Namaste. My soul honors your soul. I honor the place in you where the entire universe resides. I honor the light, love, truth, beauty & peace within you, because it is also within me. In sharing these things we are united, we are the same, we are one.

