Never!

water1

Have you ever gone to a new place or tried a new experience and thought to yourself, “I’m never doing that again!” Tell us about it.

One or two years ago we were at a resort with pools and water slides.  I was having a great time in and out of the pools, some were warmed and others not.  Anyway, the kids decided that we should all have a turn going down the huge water slide.  I am not the adventurous type in that sense, I’d rather be watching the waterfall or something…but I thought that I must seem like such a drip (pun intended 😉 ) So I decided to give it go.  I climbed up the steps and got on. Next thing, I was sliding down far too fast for my liking and started having a panic attack whilst sliding down – eventually I got to the end of the slide and felt myself in a huge swimming pool.  I honestly don’t know how I got to the top of the water, but I needed assistance to breathe.  Have you ever not been able to breathe – you know that sound a person makes? – sort of gasping deeply, but it’s as though there is no air.  Of course there had to be an audience too! 😳
I told everyone after that embarrassing episode that I will never, ever do anything like that again and will just simply continue being an old drip.
*Hugs*
37 thoughts on “Never!

  1. Uhg, panic attacks! I used to have them a lot, they are so incredibly uncomfortable. You are wise to avoid things that trigger them. Besides, water slides can give you skin burns if you hit a dry spot. 😉

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Never Again | The Story of a Guy

  3. I don’t like deep water either and I have plenty of “oops” experiences but I carry on.
    ~Hug to you toooo Hope~

  4. Oh…. I know EXACTLY how you felt. I had a similar experience. In fact, I’ve blogged about it previously. I also went down a huge water slide and it was one of the most terrifying experiences of my life. I went down backwards the whole way down and could not get the intertube turned around. The tube (with me on it) kept getting sloshed to the top of the rim of the slide. I just knew I was going to go sailing over the top and plunge to my death! I was so panic-stricken when I hit the bottom and totally disoriented.

  5. Oh, that must have been an awful experience Hope.
    Great shot and I love the photo of the Little Prince there on the top of your sidebar hon. Adorable! 😀 *hugs*

  6. I think the perception lays with the fact that most of us will never do it again, and somehow we end up doing it again anyway, but I guess that also depends on what it is. I have done many of those, for instance I once went on this carnival ride, but it was swinging so fast that I swore never to do it again (although I have been on a few rides that would scare the crap out of you! I once went bungee jumping and vowed never to do it again. 8 Years later and I have done it 9 times! My next extreme adventure is sky diving, having missed out on the chance to do it last year.
    Long weekend Hugs xoxoxoxo

Namaste. My soul honors your soul. I honor the place in you where the entire universe resides. I honor the light, love, truth, beauty & peace within you, because it is also within me. In sharing these things we are united, we are the same, we are one.

