The Note

redrose

Walking down the street, you encounter a folded piece of paper on the sidewalk. You pick it up and read it and immediately, your life has changed. Describe this experience.

I don’t really expect anyone to understand this one…but I had to write it

♥

A shabby piece of paper,
lying on the dirty sidewalk.
Meant for me, that I know.
Must be from him.
He said he wrote me many a note,
but threw them away,
in the dirt where they belong.
One got away, today…
bending slowly, grabbing the note.
I shudder as I read the words,
scrawled in cursive, blue ball point,
penned by harmful hand.
My heart bleeds.
My shoulders ache.
If only I could be relieved from this
a very dark day.
Sadness prevails.
If only with kind hand,
he wrote the note.
If only he would say,
just how wrong and apologise,
for being so perverse and bad.
It could have filled my heart with song.
A white dress I’d wear
with a rose in my hair
a white dress, a rose in my hair.
A white dress…

*hugs*

37 thoughts on “The Note

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Everything Changes | Joe's Musings

  2. When you wrote this, you had your white dress on, the rose in your hair, ready to forgive… And now it’s time to look into the mirror. For you have grown. Become bigger than the wrong. And you can walk away. At last…

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Everything Changes | The Story of a Guy

  4. So sad indeed Hope. Not a note that I wish anyone to get or read. 🙂
    Love the effect on the rose hon. Gorgeous! 😀
    *big hugs*

  5. One doesn’t need to understand it fully for this to have a really powerful impact. It has a compellingly yearning character to it – an urge to seek and find beauty rising out of oppression.

  6. Pingback: The Booknotes | Edward Hotspur

  7. Pingback: Ficlet Fragment: Today | Tommia's Tablet

  8. Perhaps a love that was abruptly abandoned the white dress a bridal gown once treasured but alas cast aside as in a dream unfulfilled and yet the memory lingers. How different a life can be when the path is not broken, and although a life is an uncharted vehicle to be explored, sometimes the chances missed offer a more optimistic future, and for the dreams, they are a never-ending feeling, a wanting or just whimsical adjustments of authenticity.

    Have a lovely rest of day my friend 🙂

    Andro xxx

  9. Pingback: From: Me; To: Myself. | The Hempstead Man

Namaste. My soul honors your soul. I honor the place in you where the entire universe resides. I honor the light, love, truth, beauty & peace within you, because it is also within me. In sharing these things we are united, we are the same, we are one.

