I will never forget that…

origin_8300081856

Todays Daily PromptDescribe a memory or encounter in which you considered your faith, religion, spirituality — or lack of — for the first time.

Growing up I think I always considered and thought of faith and God.  Funny thing is that I had three pastors in my family, and yet they were blind to the things going on right under their noses, strange that…but then often children are not that important to some, sometimes.
I have always had faith though, sometimes mountains full, sometimes my faith meter was very low.  I would like to tell about one time in particular though.  I will spare you all the details and just tell you the faith part.
It was the middle of the night, I was so scared and so very alone.  The only thing I had in my life at that moment, the only thing I could think to do was to pray…I prayed with all my heart and soul, and right then I felt something which felt like an unseen warm blanket covering me and peace was all around in that dark place.  I fell asleep that way, I never forgot that answer to my prayer and the few times I tried to retell it, no one really understood.
*hugs*

photo credit: Lorenzoclick via photopin cc

31 thoughts on “I will never forget that…

  1. I once experienced something similar. A sense of being lost, alone, and empty unlike any ever experienced before. I didn’t pray, but I allowed myself to allow it to be what it was. Suddenly it wasn’t so bad. Suddenly I was at home within my lost empty solitude (as if, only through that, could I connect to anyone or anything beyond it). Thank you for reminding me of that.

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Lack of Faith in Everything (except . . . ) | Iam Who Iam

  3. My wife and I had been going through IVF procedures for several years in hopes of having children. I prayed so hard. So often. After several tries we gave up, as it was just too emotional. I vowed that I would never pray for anything again. It wasn’t worth it. Now, 5+ years later I can see God’s plan and the journey he took as down. Now I have such an unbridled love for our 2 adopted kids. None of my prayers were as amazing as the kids we now have; I couldn’t have imagined anything even close to these two. 🙂

  4. Must have been your spirit guide or an angel Hope. There energies are all around us. 😀
    Great post and share hon. *big hugs*

  5. Lack of faith, belief in any sort of deity, most certainly.

    I remember all too vividly my mother ‘praying’ to the god, God to keep my brother safe after he bought his first car. He was in the army. While on leave he drove up to Chester to see us then he and I drove to Reading Rock Festival and visited friends before he was due back at camp.
    Two weeks later he was involved in an accident. He was 18.
    I was at his side in the hospital when the surgeon turned of the life support machine. I was 21. It is the sort of thing that stays with you….for ever.

    Faith? er…. no.
    God? No I really don’t think so.the

  6. Pingback: My First Search For God | The Jittery Goat

  7. Pingback: Daily Prompt: In My Mother’s Good Faith | Humbled Pie

Namaste. My soul honors your soul. I honor the place in you where the entire universe resides. I honor the light, love, truth, beauty & peace within you, because it is also within me. In sharing these things we are united, we are the same, we are one.

