Soldier on alone…

origin_4408818849

Today’s Daily PromptWhen you’re unwell, do you allow others to take care of you, or do you prefer to soldier on alone? What does it take for you to ask for help?

As far as the bouts of depression go, I go that alone, because the times that people knew about it, it caused them fear and worry.  I prefer not to be the cause of anyone else’s fear and worry.  There are those who spot my bouts because of my physical appearance at those times.  I tend to go a little pale and those dark rings around the eyes sometimes appear, but then its easy to just simply say I am nauseous or some other white lie.  So, those are the reasons that I go it alone and my reply to the prompt. I do talk about it here on the blog though…as you may have noticed by now.

*Hugs*

photo credit: h.koppdelaney via photopin cc

51 thoughts on “Soldier on alone…

  1. My blogs are the only places I open up about everything.
    Asking for help is hard, but I only really ask for it when I realise i need help. The “falling down” into depression part, well, I usually don’t know it’s happening until I’m in a crisis. Thankfully, though, I’ve learnt to ask for help when I am in a crisis.
    x

  2. I tend to go it alone. I was raised that way as were my brothers. My younger brother said, “Mom raised us to be loners”. It’s a bummer because I always feel great after being with good friends…… but I’m comfortable alone.

    • I think that our own personalities do emerge even if being raised by a loner or even an extrovert. I am a loner for sure, but I find my daughters are quite social people…but it is also good being comfortable ones own company. Thank you for reading, sharing and commenting, I appreciate it 🙂
      *Hugs*

  3. Oh dear her we have to be honest.. I don’t go it alone.. the poor wife has to hear how I’m about to kick the bucket when I have the slightest flu… but I do keep it from everyone else… she has to suffer my painful moaning alone…

  4. I’m another “go it alone”-er… it’s interesting though, b/c I would never want anyone I love to go it alone. I’d want them to tell me so that I could be there for them and provide comfort and I’d be horrified to know they had suffered in silence. Hmm.

  5. I pick and chose if I am sick. I don’t want to be a burden. I don’t want to be a worry. But if my behavior is off or, therer is something that I would want to know about IF my loved ones had it I would tell them. Such as the case at home right now.

  6. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Take Care | writinglikeastoner

  7. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Take Care | On My Front Porch

  8. Pingback: Whatever was I thinking! | MindBlur

  9. I ‘get’ what you wrote so well. Thanks for sharing your experience so poignantly.. I really appreciate you and your ‘genuine’, ‘heart on sleeve’ blog.

  10. Pingback: What Do Pigs Know That Humans Don’t? | The Jittery Goat

  11. Pingback: Take Care, Daily Prompt | Edward Hotspur

  12. I think you are very brave and noble to go it alone to spare others from worry. I can only hold things in so long and then have to share my troubles with the world. I am not proud of this weakness but there you have it.

  13. Same here Hope as it makes me more depressed when I see how my loved ones worry and I don’t like complaining to others as I know most of them don’t care as we all have our own problems. But know you are not alone sweetness. We are all here for you. I just wish I could be so open about it on my blog as you are on yours. Maybe one day. 😀 Thanks for trusting us and for being such a lovely and dear friend. *big hugs*

    • Thank you so much for your understanding and kindness always too, Sonel. Writing about it is a great relief to me often and find so much comfort from my online friends. Thank you also for being a lovely and wonderful fried to me too.
      *Big hugs*

      • I always will and do sweetness. I am glad you can find relief in it and that you find comfort in it. Some days I even find relief in the thought that we are not alone in this, not that it’s a good thing, but it’s good to know you’re not alone. You are very welcome hon and know I will always be there. 😀 *big hugs*

  14. I guess I am a loner when it comes to illness or depression, I retreat from everyone and prefer to be left alone to get better in my own space. The last thing I want when I am sick is visitors. But I understand that everyone has different needs so I will visit those who are sick or depressed if I know that it will cheer them up.

  15. I have to work it out of my own, I need that time to be alone, otherwise it will work out completely wrong. When there’s no other way, I have to ask for help. I like helping others even if I feel depressed 🙂

  16. Pingback: Pride | Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

  17. Pingback: Pride | Kick-Ass Ireland!

Namaste. My soul honors your soul. I honor the place in you where the entire universe resides. I honor the light, love, truth, beauty & peace within you, because it is also within me. In sharing these things we are united, we are the same, we are one.

