Rather a rose tint?

origin_2835689073

Today’s Daily Prompt: Tell us about the last time you were really, truly jealous of someone. Did you act on it? Did it hurt your relationship?

I must admit to spending sometime trying to put how ego driven jealousy is in words.  It is truly a waste of time and energy and seriously, there are much more uplifting things to do than to run around acting on jealousy.

I must admit to having been jealous at times throughout my life, but never enough to actually have done something about it. I think the most I have ever done about it is actually admitting having jealous feelings at those particular moments…but, anyway, this quotation certainly sums the emotion of jealousy up so very well;

“Jealousy is a disease, love is a healthy condition. The immature mind often mistakes one for the other, or assumes that the greater the love, the greater the jealousy – in fact, they are almost incompatible; one emotion hardly leaves room for the other.”
― Robert A. Heinlein, Stranger in a Strange Land

*hugs*

photo credit: dans le grand bleu via photopin cc

47 thoughts on “Rather a rose tint?

  1. Pingback: My very own green eyed monster | New Visions

  2. Jealousy is not an emotion that I am familiar with either although I have felt it directed towards me on occasion. My philosophy is that there are millions of people who have far less than I do and millions who have far more and when people excel at what they do I am happy to celebrate that with them. I know how it feels to have to censor what you can share with people for want of the little green monster making an appearance.

  3. I think their my be a fine line between and envy and jealousy. I really can’t remember too many times when jealousy set in but envy is no stranger. I think many people are never satisfied, whether in business or personal lives. So I think envy is a neighbor to not being satisfied. When negative thoughts creep up into actions or words Jealousy moves in. …sorry I am never this deep! ~ Does it count that I am jealous of all the people travelling on vacation this holiday weekend and I have to worK?

  4. That picture made me smile – I needed a smile today so thank you… as for jealousy, I’m rather surprised and happy to realize at this place in my life, it has lessened. I used to look around and want what other people have (especially in the love/romance realm). Lately I recognize that I want it and yet when I see it in others, I see it as beautiful and wonderful – an inspiration of what’s possible rather than a comment on what I don’t have.

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Jealous Is Not A Word Here | My Daily Prompt Blog

  6. In matters of love, one notices that the really jealous ones suffer from feelings of inadequacy which are, or become, justified. These pathetic people freak out if they see their partner so much as chatting or laughing with another person.

  7. Pingback: Jealously and Gin (Short Fiction) | The Jittery Goat

  8. Yes I was truly jealous, once in my life. Because I am human and not a chimpanzee, I was able to control my words and actions. Thoughts remain my own.

  9. Jealousy is a disease and a lot of people cross the limit with it and loose their loved ones because of that.

    PS. The picture? I have almost the same thing in my garden.

    Hugs,xo

  10. I guess I have always been jealous of those with Brown or Green Eyes too much talk about my Blue ones 🙂 Oh wanted friends measurements a few times when I was 16 lol then I learned to tell the boys off and love my girly looks 🙂 OH and being a Wild Child I too loved the RIDE! Such a cute Bug 🙂

  11. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Hey, Jealousy | SCATTERBRAIN

Namaste. My soul honors your soul. I honor the place in you where the entire universe resides. I honor the light, love, truth, beauty & peace within you, because it is also within me. In sharing these things we are united, we are the same, we are one.

