Writing about it…

origin_3882941631

Todays Daily Prompt: Memories For Sale

Actually, I was going to post about just this.  Yesterday I was doing a bit of a clean up and throwing things away.  I was cleaning out one of my drawers and came across a book, not a diary just a book in which I had written things.  I remembered that it was my shrink at the time who told me to write, write, write…best advice anyone has given me.  I had been referred to him after I had my little girl because over and above the depression I’m always on about, I had to also have PND.  So yes, I was in a terrible state of mind.

Flipping through the pages and reading a bit here and there, I was shocked that it was me; I was that person who had written all those things.  Quite frankly, I don’t quite know how I survived.  Sitting back now, I realise that I have come a long way.  I had an inner strength, that I got from I don’t know where, but somehow I managed to pull myself through those dark days.

As you know, I still have those dark days now, today being one of them…but I am grateful that I can write and that there are kind souls out there who always have something nice to say to me.  I love that about you.

*hugs*

photo credit: See-ming Lee 李思明 SML via photopin cc

48 thoughts on “Writing about it…

  1. A change of plan.. don’t write in a book for yourself to see.. write on the blog so we can help… don’t feel down, think of all the good things in life, like cupcakes and chocolates.. Hugs.. hope you feel better about everything soon…

    • I forgot to mention that that was before I discovered blogging. Most things I can write about on the blog but some things are better written on an exam pad and then torn up when I have got it all out of my system.
      Thank you so much for your kind words Bulldog, tomorrow I will feel much better, I am sure.
      *hugs*

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Garage Sale Memory | My Daily Prompt Blog

  3. And one day you will read this as well and see how strong you were as well. Every day has it’s own lessons and stories. Well written hon and thanks for sharing. 🙂 *big hugs*

  4. “The obstacles that we conquer in our past makes us stronger.” I don’t know who told me this in the past but it has held true and I am a stronger person because of it. You too will conquer your obstacles with all the support of your blogger friends. Take care and have a wonderful day!
    Peace!!!

  5. It is amazing to look back …I too wrote a lot when going through the dark days of depression and have included them in some of my blogs… When you come through and do look back it’s like you were another person,,,, Like you some days are still difficult but not at all like it was….It is so good to have encouragement from friends…There’s always hope of a better day….Diane

  6. The journey through depression is a hard one… once again I believe in acceptance as a big key (at least for me). It’s bad enough to be feeling low, no need to add feeling bad about feeling bad. Especially when you know it is temporary.

    Be kind to yourself. Do some self care (writing, candles, whatever you do that feeds your soul).

  7. It may be cliche but “What doesn’t kill us makes us stronger”
    That is one saying I believe in. Always remember that there are many out there that is willing to help when called upon.

  8. Pingback: Welcome Home Skip (Short fiction) | The Jittery Goat

  9. We all have our “Dark Days” , I am so glad that somehow, in the universe we live in that we have become friends. I often think how strange it is that we live so far apart, have never spoken, yet I have real concerns for you as if you were my neighbor next door. I wish you the best always and learn from what you share. You have a bright light inside that shines all across the world. 🙂 I can see it from here.

  10. Pingback: Daily Prompt : Memories For Sale | writinglikeastoner

  11. Pingback: Memories: The Typewriter and The Coat Rack | Bastet and Sekhmet

  12. It’s great to hear how far you’ve come. On the dark days, you might want to consider talking to and/or treating yourself as though you are talking to or showing kindness to your dearest friend who is feeling down. Think about what your would say or do to help either cheer them up or to at least be comforted. If you’d buy a small thoughtful gift or treat for them, buy one for yourself, or a massage, manicure, or a drive or walk in the country, an ice cream cone, etc. Ideally getting yourself out of the house and into the sunshine or other gentle weather/breeze. I’m no expert on depression, but I doubt that such things would hurt, and who knows? Maybe they’d help.
    Russ

    • Doing what I would do for a friend is such good advice, Russ. I never thought of it that way before. I think I would do more for a friend than for myself…thank you, I’m going to do that. I am going to think of myself as the friend.
      *hugs*

  13. Hope, It’s so good to recognize the old you changed into the new you. You sure do have very much strenghts, you came this far and now you’re writing on your next chapter and hopefully that will be more clearer than the ones before 🙂

  14. It’s funny how we often never remember just how difficult life was until reminded. I guess that’s a form of mercy. It’s good to see how far we’ve come though.

Namaste. My soul honors your soul. I honor the place in you where the entire universe resides. I honor the light, love, truth, beauty & peace within you, because it is also within me. In sharing these things we are united, we are the same, we are one.

