The puzzlement of love

large_485201047Today’s Daily promptWe each have many types of love relationships — parents, children, spouses, friends. And they’re not always with people; you may love an animal, or a place. Is there a single idea or definition that runs through all the varieties of “love”?

I puzzled over this prompt for a while.  I even asked dear old Mrs Google and still I was as puzzled as always about love.  It is true, we have different forms of love.  We love our children in a different way to which we love our friends for instance.
Sometimes we even start loving people quite by chance or accidentally…have you ever had that?
After much thought I think the single idea which runs through all forms of love is care.  Personally I can’t help caring and protecting those I love.
*hugs*

photo credit: pasma via photopin cc

51 thoughts on “The puzzlement of love

  1. As usual you picked such a lovely photo to compliment your lovely post Hope. Yes, it’s true … we are more protective towards those we love. I know I would give my life for my hubby and kids. Thanks for sharing hon. 🙂 *big hugs*

  2. A puzzlement, indeed. I think there are many forms of true love, and a lasting sexual attraction is only one of them. These days, that seems the only one that people are comfortable with using the word with, but I think a different kind of love for friends is also very real. Of course, love for animals only some really sad individuals will dispute.

  3. Care. Care is a good one. You, certainly, should have care for someone/thing you love. By chance / accidentally? Yes, I believe you can do that. I think you can start a conversation with someone or go somewhere you weren’t planning and come across someone/thing you just love. I also believe that there are different levels of love and that we expect different things out of those levels at different times – such may be the reason for divorce and for disappointment. If we could get better at just accepting love and saying how we feel and know we won’t be judged for saying it or that we won’t hurt the other person by saying it, I think we would really be onto something.
    Scott

      • I am learning to be careful of both what I say and how I listen. People are not always ready for any show of affection – it often scares them, even if it is offered in the idea of a good friendship. I think the US is raised now in the light that any statement of “love” made toward someone needs to be suspect: how sad.

  4. I have a lot of people that I love and I agree that there are diffirent ways to love. Then you can also have more than one child, but we all know that you sometimes feel you love Ann more than Peter, wich isn’t so, Ann might just have been more loving and friendly, than Peter. But your feeling for your children, grandchildren is completely different to what you feel for your husband or wife. Thats also different from love for anybody else. So we can go on and on, because your love cannot be the same for everybody that you love. But is’nt Love a grand feeling? If I had no love in my life, I would wither away and die. There is just one feeling you should have before you could love someone, you absolutely must like the person, you cannot love someone that you do not like.

  5. Going off both your words and Scott’s – I think care is important and also simply acceptance… that includes acceptance of self and others – to me acceptance permeates all love.

  6. Pingback: Love Ain’t What It Used To Be | The Jittery Goat

  7. Pingback: I want to know what love is… specially prepared for Mother’s Day! | 3rdculturechildren

  8. Pingback: Seeking, Hoping, Believing – Love #wordpress #photography #love | Moondustwriter's Blog

  9. You took the words right out of my doggie heart, dear friend. I’m puzzled a bit by this prompt too. Perhaps I use the word love too lightly…and perhaps I don’t care. 😉

  10. Hi/Bonjour Happy Hugger! 🙂 Glad to have come across your awesome blog, via Dennis…
    – – –
    @”Personally I can’t help caring and protecting those I love.” – me, too, également… 🙂
    Cute and sweet photo: I like ducks… 🙂

    Have a serene Sunday, tons of inspiration and my very best, Mélanie – catlover & hugger, too… 🙂

  11. So true, love is the feeling that comes from within . The feeling of love is pure , It could be our love for our loved ones or for anyone .The feeling itself is so pure and full of love. Its a blessing to have our loved ones with us .How beautiful is to share our love with everyone .Its same as sharing our happiness with them. A beautiful thought dear.

  12. Pingback: Love | Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

Namaste. My soul honors your soul. I honor the place in you where the entire universe resides. I honor the light, love, truth, beauty & peace within you, because it is also within me. In sharing these things we are united, we are the same, we are one.

