Until I know what to believe…

medium_2985066755

The Daily Prompt is asking us the following today:  Reincarnation: do you believe in it?  They have also headed the post as “Karma Chameleon.”

“The only real failure in life is not to be true to the best one knows.” Buddha quote
My understanding of karma is that we are living in a state of existence and have previously lived in states of exsitence.  That the things happening to us in our  present existence is due to our behaviour in our previous existence.  Having been taught Christianity growing up I realise that I have certain ideas that have stuck, but in my quest for the understanding of our existence I generally try to have an open mind to most beliefs and religions until such time, if ever, I have reached some sort of conclusion or understanding within myself about life, only then would I be able to  state what I believe.
Until then though, I will choose to live remembering the present karma, in the sense that in any given circumstance I will choose to choose good over bad…and in that way create good karma to the best of my ability.
Hope this post makes sense.
*hugs*

photo credit: mikebaird via photopin cc

57 thoughts on “Until I know what to believe…

  1. I think our souls are around forever. Ever meet a small child that seems to have old eyes and about 80 years of wisdom? xoxo

  2. “There are more things in heaven and earth, Horatio, than are dreamt of in your philosophy”
    That about sums it up for me.

    Though I’m with you – from a practical point of view, all I can do is the best I can in any given situation.

  3. Your attitude about doing good and needing to know for yourself, reminds me of what the Buddha said:
    “Find out for yourself what is truth, what is real. Discover that there are virtuous things and there are non-virtuous things. Once you have discovered for yourself give up the bad and embrace the good.”

  4. Makes perfect sense… and we can only hope that more and more people will choose the good over the bad in the situations they encounter in life. Sometimes it certainly seems the other way around…

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt – Karma Chameleon – Having karmic problems? Why not “Re-Ink Your Re-Inc” today before it’s too late – we’re waiting for your call! | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

  6. The very satisfying act of doing something Good…rather than something Bad ..can be felt in our hearts..and enjoyed in this life…and we should all do it more often…just incase there is no further rewards to be had when we are no longer here on earth.

  7. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Karma Chameleon … The answer is in your faith | Fasting, Food and other musings by determined34

  8. Can we ever know what we can truly believe in? The very aspect of our intention to know colours our search with baggage from our past and selfish expectations of the future. What could we do to overcome these aspects?

    Shakti

  9. Pingback: IN HER OLD AGE « hastywords

Namaste. My soul honors your soul. I honor the place in you where the entire universe resides. I honor the light, love, truth, beauty & peace within you, because it is also within me. In sharing these things we are united, we are the same, we are one.

