I wished he wouldn’t say Amen…

The other day I was at a meeting and the guest speaker they had invited was some or another church minister. I took a deep breath because I thought he was going to preach and I was certainly not in the mood to be preached to. I haven’t been to church for approx 6-7 years now. Turned out that he didn’t preach much, he mostly spoke about life in a spiritual manner which I could relate to. He spoke in the sense that he had taken the “church” blinkers off and had more of a intuitive outlook. In the middle of his speech he asked us to close our eyes for a small prayer, obediently I did so, wondering if this was going to be one of those long never ending prayers, but to my surprise it wasn’t long at all…I just sat there, with closed eyes, and all I could think was how wonderful the vibration of his prayer was, it was almost like a sort of meditation. I was so sorry when he said Amen.

I really wished him to carry on praying for ever. I question if it was just my emotional state which wished him to never stop praying or if for once I felt this is a man of the cloth, who truly is of the cloth, who weighed up all matters spiritual? There’s a hymn that they sang at the church I used to attend, the words went something like “When you left your room this morning did you think to pray?” I haven’t prayed for myself in a long time, yet I pray for everyone else – doesn’t quite make sense does it?

*hugs*

18 thoughts on “I wished he wouldn’t say Amen…

  1. Although I am a confirmed atheist I do believe that religion and spiritualism has an important role to play in this world. Are you Cancerian by any chance?

  2. Hope, it makes perfect sense. I too pray for everyone else and hardly ever for myself, I think God knows what I want and I don’t feel the need to remind him of my wants and needs, however I do start every prayer the same way ” God please hear me, thank you for everything you have given me, and for all the prayers you’ve answered “

  3. You are right, it doesn’t make sense that you are not praying for yourself. Think of it this way praying for yourself is like giving yourself a huge hug that wraps around you and holds you tight with love.

  4. Lovely indeed. Don’t under estimate the simplicity of what is God’s meaning. I know that everyone has their religion, and that there is a lot of rules. But the truest of these things is really quite simple and not complicated as we humans always seem to want to make it. Bless you Hope. And I don’t mean that in the heavy religious sort of way. But you are obviously special!

  5. I pray for other people, but when it comes to myself, I just talk to God, any place, any time, with my eyes open or closed. Maybe that is praying too 🙂 Keep well, Hope. *HUGS*

Namaste. My soul honors your soul. I honor the place in you where the entire universe resides. I honor the light, love, truth, beauty & peace within you, because it is also within me. In sharing these things we are united, we are the same, we are one.

