The funny side of depression…

Having my children see and live with my depression makes me worry often. I worry about what they think and how much negativity is placed on them, so therefore, I always try to be as open as possible about the subject, also I try and let them understand that this depression is due to events, circumstances mostly and that they don’t have to worry that it is in their genes.

So the other morning, on the way to school, my little one (just turned 6) was saying that today is a new day and yesterday is an old day. So me, always trying to say positive things said: “Yes, that is so right and it doesn’t matter if you find that sometimes today isn’t working out because you know that you will always have tomorrow, which is a bright, sparkling brand new day!”

Next thing, little one is pulling a face in the mirror behind the sun shield.

I ask “What are you doing now?” “Nothing, just looking at what my bored face looks like” she says…

I had to keep my laughter in, but at least I know she gets so much positive talk that she finds it boring.

Is that a good thing? Hopefully it is.

26 thoughts on “The funny side of depression…

  1. There was a time, before I knew I suffered from depression, when my two shop assistants commented that I looked as if I didn’t have a care in the world. I told them that I left my worries outside the shop.
    Few people are aware that I suffer from depression as I’ve learned to hide it well.
    Have a good day, Hope*

  2. very sweet kiddy comments Hopey! I wouldn’t worry too much – as long as you’re keeping them informed they know there’s nothing to fear. Kids are very adaptable…

  3. Wonderful! It is possible, of course, that you misunderstood her reason for looking at her “bored” face. Perhaps, it was something else. I know that I told my children every single day until they could finish it themselves: “Do you know what you are?” them: “We are special!” They still remember that one (and they are and they know it).
    Scott

Namaste. My soul honors your soul. I honor the place in you where the entire universe resides. I honor the light, love, truth, beauty & peace within you, because it is also within me. In sharing these things we are united, we are the same, we are one.

