Today as I was …

Today as I was walking through a parking lot I passed an elderly couple.  The man was a few steps ahead of his wife and he hadn’t realized that she had stopped to take something out of her shoe.  I was passing him, but he obviously thought I was his wife.  He didn’t look at me but started talking.

He told her (me) to tread carefully around a section and ended it off with “my darling.”  I realized that he thought I was his wife, (you know how that happens sometimes) but instead of saying something I just left him to carry on talking.  Why? Well because he was talking to her (me now) so sweetly and I especially liked the amount of times he used the word “darling.”  Then he stopped looked at me and smiled, his wife also saw what happened.  What a lovely couple.  They both laughed and she said she sees he can still hold a younger woman’s attention. How sweet it was.

I suppose I stole a few sweet words that were meant for her for myself, just for a few seconds…but it was worth hearing gentle words from a gentle voice. It was little medicine for my soul today.

38 thoughts on “Today as I was …

  1. Strangely, the link provided by your comment on my blog contains an ‘invalid character’ and won’t work until it is deleted.
    It tries to connect as hope*thehappyhugger and the * has to be zapped.

Namaste. My soul honors your soul. I honor the place in you where the entire universe resides. I honor the light, love, truth, beauty & peace within you, because it is also within me. In sharing these things we are united, we are the same, we are one.

