Home » Uncategorized » Un-invent…hatred, violence, weapons …

Un-invent…hatred, violence, weapons …

medium_5022057355

Todays Daily PromptIf you could un-invent something, what would it be? Discuss why, potential repercussions, or a possible alternative.

Something that is weighing very heavily in my heart and many other hearts at the moment and that is the amount of crime, rape and murders in South Africa.  There is the very high profile case in the news at the moment and just very recently also the gang rape and brutal murder of 17 year old girl and there are many more cases.  

Just recently our local radio station had the sound of a chime for each time a rape was reported.  I stand under correction but I think a rape is reported every 8 minutes. Keep in mind that not all rapes are reported.  There are women who have kept their silence for years.  

I would like to un-invent guns, weapons and all types of warfare.   I know un-inventing weapons won’t stop the violence, but it might bring it down significantly.  Also, I would like to un-invent the hatred and disrespect in some for women and children and replace it with love and respect.

Possible alternatives:  I was listening to a talk show discussing violence against women and children and some of the callers felt it was because there is no religious instruction at schools anymore.  Well, with all the mixed religions and nationalities in South Africa it would be difficult to have a specific beliefs being taught to the children.  Perhaps a class about morals might help.  A class where respect for humanity is taught…?

I have a much longer post about abuse, but I decided not to post it, it became too personal…my heart aches for those who were harmed and their families.  My heart truly aches.

photo credit: Shandi-lee via photopin cc

70 thoughts on “Un-invent…hatred, violence, weapons …

  1. When I become president one day (don’t worry, no chance there) I’d appoint you as the Minister of Uninvention, to take us back to a time when you could walk the streets with a smile, greet friends along the way, and buy an ice-cream cone from the friendly vendor. And we’ll make a law to uninvent criminals….

  2. Pingback: So Long, Money « Stuphblog

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt – Undo OR The Right To Live | Beyond Beauty Tips

  4. I have had many of the same feelings. When a crime like you describe occurs, it is over reported. I am not smart enough to know the answer to how to stop it, I do know that the media doesn’t spend as much effort and time covering positive news. All people are capable of great good and great evil I guess. I try to focus on the good. As for religious instruction in school, who’s religion? That is a divisive conversation right there. Love is the answer, love can defeat hate, bring darkness to the light, etc. It is generated from each person, and that we all have control of. Thank you for the thought provoking post my friend! More people like you in the world is my prescription for solving this problem. :-)

  5. I like the idea about a class teaching humanity… but, what happened to children being taught those values at home and in their communities? Why must the burden for that come down on the teachers and the school systems?

    • My suggestion about teaching humanity at school is because it seems not to be coming from the home anymore in many cases. I don’t think it should be seen as a burden on schools and school teachers, it should be seen as a service to humanity and what better place to start? It has to be taught somewhere.
      *hugs*

      • I agree it needs to be taught somewhere… I just worry that we have come to rely to heavily on schools to be the only teachers our children have. I guess it’s better they get it there than nowhere at all. It just saddens me that these sort of common sense things aren’t being learned in homes as much anymore…

      • Yes, I do understand the point you’re making dj and it is very, very sad that these things arent being taught at home anymore. Thank you for sharing your thoughts I appreciate it.

  6. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Undo | بيسان

  7. It is not only in South Africa so but also where I live, and I know also much in America. It is sad that there is need for this and I am totally with you, It would be a much nicer world with more love and less hatred.! We can only pray and spread love! hugs Ute

  8. Pingback: Daily Prompt: What would I reinvent? | My Blog

  9. morals should not be taught at school. It should be learned at mother’s knee. But we have no mothers anymore – they’re either addicted to something, or dead from aids, or they don’t care enough. Money is god everywhere – I think money should be un-invented.
    As for violence against women and children – where you find soft dicked men, they will always pick on the weakest. Maybe religions around the world should stop seeing and proclaiming females as dirty, lower beings – maybe then things can change.

  10. No sooner had I read this than I got a text from my daughter. She is a teacher’s aide in one of the lower income schools here. They are on lock-down at this very moment because a parent shot at another parent. Violence is hitting a little close to home today. Great post, and great idea.

  11. Excluding all the wonderful men who read your blog and comment and give me hope, I would uninvent men since they seem to be behind the vast majority of violence and abuse. I think this is a great post, very thoughtful, and wish it were possible. *hugs*

  12. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Undo « Mama Bear Musings

  13. Pingback: 5 Things I Would UNinvent « Cheri Speak

  14. I tend to believe that things go in pendulum swings. We seem to be at a time when the pendulum has swung too far in the direction of political and economic chaos and that, in turn, seems to breed more violence. Hopefully we will see a shift back the other way soon. In the meantime, all we can do is spread a little light and love of our own to help change directions. Focus on the good.

  15. Sadly children learn violence in the home.Most teachers say ‘problem child,problem parents’.I agree that some form of guidance and early intervention may help though.

  16. Pingback: Chocolates, Anyone | The Jittery Goat

  17. Pingback: There’s No Place To Hide, Get Lost, Scratch, Or Pick Anymore | The Jittery Goat

  18. The news coming out of SA is very depressing, Hopestar. I often wish that I could just stay here. I know crime and violence happens everywhere, but I think South Africa is hard to beat for crime statistics these days. Hugs

  19. How about just teaching empathy and compassion as a required course in all schools? I’m with you %100 here, Esperanza. Uninvent hatred and disrespect, especially against women {{{Hugs}}} Kozo

  20. i am an associate professor. In my 25 years of teaching experience, i have noticed that it is the childishness and immature behavior combined with over freedom and over exposure to sex media that is making it. your post is a very heart felt one.

  21. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Undo | Joe's Musings

  22. Pingback: Daily Prompt – Undo – Rock & Roll It All the Way Back (An Online Mini-Musical) | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

  23. Pingback: Hammered Dulcimers and the Chevy Bel Air | Blog It or Lose It!

  24. Hello Hope! I hope you don’t mind, but I’ve nominated you for the Liebster Award. I really do enjoy your posts and look forward to them very much! There is no obligation; you can follow the directions if you are interested. I just wanted you to know that you are appreciated. There’s more information on my post: http://jrosenberry1.wordpress.com/2013/02/26/hammered-dulcimers-and-the-chevy-bel-air/

    I too would uninvent hatred and violence … [hug to you too]

  25. Pingback: The Right To Live - Undoing the invention of Nuclear Bombs | Things To Rave About

  26. Pingback: The Right To Live - Undoing the invention of Nuclear Bombs | Things To Rave About

“Friendship is born at that moment when one man says to another: "What! You too? I thought that no one but myself . . ."” C.S. Lewis, The Four Loves

