Tick Tock.


medium_4037053218
In response to the Daily Prompt:

This is a true story…
Our mornings are rather hectic.  The hectic-ness is due to traffic.  I have worked out the time I have to leave home in order to get the kids to school on time.  What people don’t seem to understand though is that if the kiddies and I leave 5 minutes later than the normal time we will be stuck in traffic that will make the children a half an hour late for school.  So now we leave very early, they get to school quite early but that is the only way it can be done.
Yesterday morning my alarm rang but I was so tired I stretched out my hand and pressed the “NON snooze” button and just went back to sleep again.  Thank heavens middle daughter has her own alarm and I woke up from the sounds of her drawing her curtains.
I of course jumped up and charged around the place like a crazy fool trying to get myself organised in order to get little one dressed and packed for school.
So, eventually we, meaning me and little one, got in the car and waited and waited for the one who was up first.  I sighed in frustration, not wanting to get stuck in traffic. Just then “I heard the car door slam, and immediately looked at the clock…”  Thank goodness I thought, we will make it in time and we did :)

photo credit: marcp_dmoz via photopin cc

40 thoughts on “Tick Tock.

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: The Clock… digital awakenings | Fasting, Food and other musings by determined34

  2. Pingback: The Clock Test | The Chatter Blog

  3. Pingback: The Counting… | Yeahthtsme

  4. Pingback: Slam – A Daily Prompt Post | Edward Hotspur

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt: The Clock Was Ticking | My Blog

  6. Pingback: Daily Prompt: The Clock | Enchanted Seashells…Confessions of a Tugboat Captain's Wife

  7. Pingback: Time To Rewrite (Short story) | The Jittery Goat

  8. 0h how I remember the days of rushing one to school and one to Nursery school in the City traffic and then doing the reverse in the afternoon traffic…my heart goes out to you and the music playing in your vehicle on each trip…”wheels on the bus” etc…glad you made it. Thank you for sharing

  9. Pingback: Dead lines | polysyllabic profundities

  10. Pingback: Time | Misifusa's Blog

  11. I used to run like that all the time. Since the stroke, I just don’t. I go early or I just don’t concern myself with what happens if I am late. The result has been that I am almost always early and, when I am late, it hasn’t seemed to matter. Maybe that’s what I was supposed to learn.
    Scott

  12. It is awful when you oversleep or need to rush in the morning, the whole day seems not going right. I changed my habits too.I get up 30 minutes earlier and I have some me time before the children will be woken up. Nice and calm to start the day, that is how I like it. :-)

  13. Pingback: Flying On Empty Thoughts | The Counting…

“Friendship is born at that moment when one man says to another: "What! You too? I thought that no one but myself . . ."” C.S. Lewis, The Four Loves

