A little anti-cupid ode


Lost in Space
Oh No!  They did it.  I was hoping the Daily Prompt wouldn’t be about valentines or love.  I’m beginning to feel all sugary sick from all the commercial love, red hearts and chocolates wherever I look today.
Now it seems I have to write an ode – apologies in advance.  I can’t write odes.  I understand an ode to be a long poem? *sigh* I’ll try, but I’m not feeling the love today…
Love
Not unto this world
but in a different dimension.
Another time, another place
A different plane…
Inner eye peering through
veils of mist.
Almost grasping
the unfathomable meaning
of
Love.
Is there a cure for a cynic
Perhaps a dip in the sphere of love.
Until then
I shall peer through my misty veil
And wonder
What is love?
*hugs*

photo credit: EJP Photo via photopin cc

69 thoughts on “A little anti-cupid ode

  1. I RALLY love this one *hugs*. I think love is dedicated commitment – to a spouse (I kinda like mine after 54 years), a child, a dog or other critter, a lifestyle, a work of art, an occupation……. :)

  2. Nicely done!
    But, as Shakespeare says,
    “What is love?
    ‘Tis not hereafter.
    Present mirth hath present laughter,
    What’s to come is still unsure.
    In delay there lies no plenty …”

  3. Pingback: Daily Post-Cupid’s Arrow “IN YOUR ABSENCE” | soumyav

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt – Cupid’s Arrow – Poem / Poetry – “Feasting on Feral Feelings” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

  5. Pingback: UNENDING LOVE « hastywords

  6. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Cupid’s Arrow … in the Southern Sky it flew yesterday!s | Fasting, Food and other musings by determined34

  7. Pingback: Very Inspiring Blogger Award | Ajaytao 2010

“Friendship is born at that moment when one man says to another: "What! You too? I thought that no one but myself . . ."” C.S. Lewis, The Four Loves

