I don’t…

medium_315630504Todays Daily Prompt: Tell us about something you know you should do . . . but don’t.

It feels as though there are a million and one things I should be doing, but don’t. Things like not being strict enough with my children, not reading enough to my little daughter (I do, but not enough), not cooking enough vegetables, not visiting relatives enough or even calling them and so the list goes on….
One thing that bothers me the most about the things I don’t do, but should is that I don’t pray enough.  I’m not talking about things like saying grace.  I’m talking about really getting on my hands and knees and just saying it all, thanking from the heart and humbly asking.
I thought of a few reasons or excuses as to why not, but none of them are good enough to justify why I don’t.  Sometimes, when I’m really worn out I will lay my head down on my pillow at night and talk to my God and fall asleep that way, but it should be done even when I’m not tired and worn…
*Hugs*

photo credit: Coanri/Rita via photopin cc

57 thoughts on “I don’t…

  1. He hears you all through the day.. even if you’re not talking directly to him… and that is probably why we should talk every night to ask forgiveness of all the bad thoughts and words… thanks for reminding me.. I don’t do this nearly enough…

  2. Instead of all this kneeling and reciting stock phrases, I rather like the idea of having an ongoing communication throughout the day. Just chatting, perhaps, like Don Camillo in the Giovanni Guareschi books.

  3. Pingback: Shoulda Woulda Coulda | Yeahthtsme

  4. I think the Daily Post is backwards – all this negativity is draining. I won’t even answer a lot of them ‘cuz they are getting rather argumentative. Feels like they just want to ‘stir the pot’. I love you just the way you are, you are perfect in my eyes beautiful – and your prayers are awesome!

  5. Great post. I wonder how many of us are in the same boat? *sheepishly raises hand* It used to be such an automatic thing too, when I was younger, and then it just seemed to fade out of habit. No excuse is good enough for that. I will try harder…

  6. Love that you chose prayer for this challenge, Esperanza. You might want to think of your blogging as prayer because you are creating and sharing in a way that would make God smile. {{{Hugs]}} Kozo

  7. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Shoulda Woulda Coulda…The Daily Post | Enchanted Seashells…Confessions of a Tugboat Captain's Wife

  8. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Shoulda Woulda Coulda … Yes but, No but … | Fasting, Food and other musings by determined34

  9. I have decided that prayer doesn’t have to be a formal, getting down on your knees, type of thing. I consider it prayer when I look up and thank God in my head for the day or any such small conversation like that. As said above, “Don’t take it too seriously we all have those moments.”

  10. Pingback: Daily Prompt – Shoulda Woulda Coulda But……There’s Always A Reason Stopping Ya! | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

  11. I should be writing an article that’s due tomorrow, but instead I am reading blogs. As for prayer, I just don’t know. I do it sometimes. I wish I could have the blind faith I had when I was a little kid.

  12. Prayer is magical. I pray before I get out of bed in the morning, I thank God for the wonderful day ahead of me. I pray for my friends who don’t pray or forget to for the things that they need help with in their lives. I pray during the day if something requires it. You can always plug in, wherever you are, it is a life changing habit. Nothing happens if you don’t remember to ask for it and no prayer goes unanswered. It may not always be the answer you want but it is always the right answer. xoxo

  13. I am like bulldog and Col. I talk to Him all the time and I seldom ask for myself, mostly for others. For myself I say ‘Thy will be done’. Remember God loves us, Hope. He knows better than we do what we need.

  14. This post struck a chord with so many bloggers including myself. My prayer life is non-existent except for saying grace. It bothers me too but it takes discipline to get back on track and of late there have been so many distractions. I find it so difficult to still my mind and shut out all the other thoughts and focus on prayer alone.

“Friendship is born at that moment when one man says to another: "What! You too? I thought that no one but myself . . ."” C.S. Lewis, The Four Loves

