Home » Uncategorized » Why?

Why?

medium_5131265649

Daily Prompt: Explain why you chose your blog’s title and what it means to you.

Well the answer is quite simple.  I started the blog a few years back on another blogging platform and then moved over to WP.  I started because I desperately needed a sounding board.   The blog was started when I was in the depths of a seriously bad bout of depression and a friend suggested a try blogging.  It was good advice and I have been blogging ever since.
Why the name? Well, “Hope” is for me to remember that no matter how dark it gets, there is always hope.  I gave myself a little star for surviving that bad state of depression, but I could not continue giving myself a star every time, so the star is there for every time I see hope through the dark and survive.
“The Happy Hugger” and the “hugs* is because I am a very affectionate person  and I always feel so empty just leaving a comment without saying “ok, good bye then” so I decided to leave *hugs* when I leave someone else’s post that I have commented on.  Unfortunately the *hugs* aren’t always taken up the correct way, so now I only leave *hugs* on another blog when I know for sure it is not a problem for that person and then of course when you come and visit my blog and comment, you will ALWAYS, but ALWAYS get a *hug* because I luvs ya :)
*HUGS*

photo credit: Wooly Matt via photopin cc

100 thoughts on “Why?

  1. Well, if that isn’t just the cutest little picture ever!!!! I adore your blog and you bring brightness and joy to each day. Sorry that it started out due to depression but, I hope that it helps to know that you are making a difference in other people’s lives. Sending very big hugs back your way.

  2. I started my blog for therapy reasons too, amazing how helpful it can be huh? Also, I was shocked to read that some people didn’t take the *hugs* the right way…weird? I dig it :)

  3. That’s a really good thing. I think I chose my title simply because I always end up blogging things that are a bit back dated, over and done with. Hence backblogger. It’s very Cancerian of me.

  4. It is too cute that the white-faced kitty has a heart on its nose. My son takes meds for depression. It’s not a dark depression anymore, but he still has issues with motivation and looking toward a future. It seems to be a lonely condition as there is nothing I can do to make it better for him…except hugs.

  5. Pingback: Why Stuph™? | Stuphblog

  6. :) that’s so kind .. I’m a little shy (really, even if this doesn’t seem to be so at first sight) but I really enjoy your *hugs* :) your blog title is so positive and friendly, I like it!

    And there’s yet another thing we have in common. Before starting my first online diary on my own homepage, I wrote a diary in a “depression community” together with other people who suffered from depression. That was my first experience with writing about my thoughts and feelings online and sharing it with others – and it helped a lot! and still does ..

    Hugs to you :)

  7. Pingback: Daily Prompt: What Readers Say About Me | My Blog

  8. This has got to be the sweetest picture ever! I’m glad I found your blog and I do enjoy reading it. It’s always interesting to see how people come up with their blog title. It made me a little sad to hear that some people don’t take the “hugs” in the right way. Never stop writing and never stop giving out your *hugs*.

  9. I remember at first there was quite a little bunfight about the hugs you and others who copied you started distributing – but then people got very passionate about things on that forum, didn’t they? :)

    • Oh yes, passionately ridiculous in fact Col. There was a time also when I was doing the interviews and was accused of interviewing more men than women…now that really took the cake :)
      *hugs*

  10. CanNOT imagine anyone objecting to hugs… it’s not quite my style or comfort zone to pass them out here, I’m generally not the touchy-feely sort… but gosh, how could anyone object to a hug from a blogger?

  11. Pingback: Daily Prompt – All About Me – The (Mostly True) Origin Story of TooFullToWrite | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

  12. Pingback: Daily Prompt: All About Me … The beginning of Lent | Fasting, Food and other musings by determined34

  13. Blogger “hugs” are what keep me going sometimes, so I love your title and your signature. On the other hand, I’m not a real-time hugger. I suppose it all depends on how you are raised.

  14. Awww.. Now who would refuse hugs from you.. You really come across as a very warm and affectionate person so am not surprised you feel like giving *hugs* to everyone who comes by at your space.. :-)

  15. Pingback: Daily Prompt: All About Me | My.Vivid.Visions

  16. *huggs* I especially liked your name *huggs* Anyone misinterpeting your name is ………, ……….. I didint have words. I started with fb after I lost the love of my life, the reason for living, and then I met you on your blog and I want to thank you for talking to me. I read you first and love the beautiful pictures you post. Hope for you to be a very happy hugger. Love you.

  17. THAT picture is the epitome of “WHY”…I laughed just looking at those two kitties, it likes you just told them “Stop that!” and they both looked at you and said “WHY!” JUST GREAT!!! :)

  18. that was supposed to say, it looks like…lol
    and I wanted to add, I love the * part of your blogging name, what a sweet way to remind yourself of the strength and hope you have…as long as you have hope, you’ll get through it all just fine!

  19. Pingback: Hope | Prayers and Promises

“Friendship is born at that moment when one man says to another: "What! You too? I thought that no one but myself . . ."” C.S. Lewis, The Four Loves

