Sweet sixteen…

0106r

Daily prompt:  When you were 16, what did you think your life would look like? Does it look like that? Is that a good thing?

I love the daily prompt but sometimes my heart sinks when I see the actual prompt for the day, like today.  I know I don’t have to do the prompt, but its one of my things I do.  Make any sense?   My reason for the “heart sink” is because you see, I don’t look back anymore.

A quick backward glance I see a 16-year-old just trying to make sense of the world and living day by day.  The dreams of the future were far, far away…I was just making it through each day.

How does my life look now…I am blessed and grateful…♥

*hugs*

39 thoughts on “Sweet sixteen…

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt~ Sweet Sixteen (Delusions Of Grandeur) « The Cheeky Diva

  2. That seems like another lifetime to me. I could never have imagined how my life would turn out. Glad I’m not 16 any more. I’m having much more fun than I did when I was a teenager. :) I love the ‘Night at the Circus’ poster. Hugs to you. Have a great week, Hopestar. :)

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Sweet Sixteen | My Blog

  4. You said it right, at 16.. We are still trying to figure out the world so at age the dreams are more short sighted than long term like getting good grades or something. :-)

  5. This made me think. I’m only 24 but I don’t really remember much from when I was 16. Although I do remember everything else before and after that time. Like preschool. I remember every detail. But I guess, like you, back then I must have also been trying to make sense of the world. Occupied with the now rather than tomorrow. Glad you’re happy with your life right now. *hugs*

  6. Am I going to throw a spike in the wheels of “not remembering” by telling you that I can remember every detail of my sixteenth birthday? What I remember the best is that I received my first flowers
    from a guy, who kept on giving flowers for the rest of his life. The first was a surprise as I din’t know
    that this storybook man, even knew that I, a young st 9 girl, was alive. Although I have a wonderful life, I would be very happy to have my life over.
    O, yes *hugs*Sweet Sixteen by the Furys was one of our songs!! Thanks for that.

  7. 16 seems so long ago, I don’t even remember who I was then; it certainly wasn’t who I am now. I can’t remember what dreams or hopes I had for my future self all those years ago, too much life has happened, and how can our expectations for ourselves mean anything before we even know who we truly are (if that makes sense)?

  8. Pingback: Thank You for the Nominee Awards | My Blog

  9. ..sometimes it’s better not to look back. The most important thing is that you have a lot of good things in your life now :) that’s wonderful.

    I wouldn’t want to be 16 again.. I was full of fears, depression, constant “fights” with my Dad .. trouble at school .. and at the time I’d not believed it if someone had told me I would have a family later on, would be able to drive a car, would be able to do simple things which were difficult or even unreachable for me at the age of 16 ..

    But I remember a lot ..sometimes I think I just cannot forget – certainly also because I’ve always been writing diaries (which I’ve kept..)

    I’ve just come back from physiotherapy with our dog – she’s had a severe back pain at the weekend and couldn’t move without pain. She has spondylosis and arthrosis. Now she’s getting better, thank God ..and she seemed to like physiotherapy :)

    • Thanks for sharing ocean…16 is a difficult year. I wonder if this is something with retrievers, my dog gets inflammation in his back legs and back. Wishing you all the best with your dog.
      *hugs*

  10. Ditto, not my best year, 16. Not so sweet. I don’t like to look back either. I know people who totally live in the past, hmmm. *hugs*

  11. Pingback: Liebster Award | Ajaytao 2010

“Friendship is born at that moment when one man says to another: "What! You too? I thought that no one but myself . . ."” C.S. Lewis, The Four Loves

